Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Aerobie
Arrow

Type:
Diameter:
Available Weights:
Plastic:

Aerobie Arrow
Flight Rating Category Value What Aerobie says: The Aerobie Arrow approach and putter brings the famous Aerobie spoiler rim design to the game of disc golf. The spoiler rim centers the aerodynamic lift which results in flights as straight as an arrow. The spoiler rim also forms part of an ergonomic grip that helps make throws consistently accurate.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 02-21-08
Submitted by Sara Location: Houston, TX
Level: Amateur
Disc Weights: n/a
Review: I bought this Arrow as my putter when I first started ... horrible mistake! It's heavy and awkward, and unless you've got a great put and like a lot of glide, this is NOT the disc for you! I gave it away to a guy I met on the course to my house - I was so glad to be rid of it. I, however, will stick with my Spider.
Posted 05-24-06
Submitted by drew buchman drew.buchman@okstate.edu
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 169
Review: bought this oddity just a couple of weeks ago while lookin for somethin new to maybe throw into my long range putting scheme, and i almost burned it the first day out... but i had a little faith and a looot of patience and while fooling around found a couple of great uses for it. one it is a very solid approach putter given that it has almost no fade and and very little if any roll. I can lay this thing within 5 feet of any basket when given anything around 100 feet out with a solid side arm. second, after alot of bouncing this thing off the basket inside of 30 feet and realizing it threw like a rock, i did something out of pure frustration and flipped the disk over throwing it upside down. it worked beautifully, as far as i can figure, the spoiler effect, or inverted dome it features, acts as a shallow belly and allows for a more standard putting throw without having to allow for the drift caused by the lighter wight of the disc. over all its is a solid addition to the bag, with a little practice and innovation it my even replace the old and trusties
Posted 04-28-06
Submitted by zerohero zero_43502@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 174
Review: it's like throwing a plastic brick at a basket it's awkward to grip and it's just a aweful putter compared to anything innova or discraft has out
Posted 03-26-06
Submitted by Brad DeVillez Disc Weights: 164-168
Review: Garbage. Flies like a trash can lid. And that would be a good place for it!
Posted 03-09-06
Submitted by Will Grant efdw@adelphia.net
Disc Weights: 169
Review: Someone traded a Aviar putter with my son and gave him the Arrow. He was raving about it so I bought one. You'll either love it or hate it. Most of the serious players I know wouldn't be caught dead with one, but my putting has improved by 30 to 40 percent. First, the disc feels heavy and is easy to judge in your hands. Second, it flies straight. Third, it is equally easy to throw forearm, diaper style, or backhand. Fourth, it does stay put when it hits the ground. I have throw 75 foot shots with the Arrow that hit on the side of a steep hill and dug in safe and flat on the ground, while everyone else in the group watched their putters roll down the hill and add a couple of strokes. Since I am a weak putter, this is a good choice for me or anyone else who needs helps and "lays up" frequently at the baskets. I imagine it is to unmanageable for advanced amateurs and pros, however.
Posted 11-17-05
Submitted by Adam Schneider adam-discgolfreview@unpossible.com
Location: Portland, OR
Level: Amateur
Disc Weights: 165
Review: I got this disc a couple years ago and never used it; then, this fall, I decided to try putting sidearm (forehand), because I feel like I have more control that way. Since I was experimenting anyway, I figured I'd give the Arrow another shot, and it's working brilliantly. The Arrow is especially well-suited to forehand short-range putting because the rim on the underside is so shallow; there's no chance of it getting stuck on my fingers and going haywire. For longer approaches, I let it go high with the right edge up a little, and it floats over to the pin and plops down flat on the ground. Since I started using the Arrow, I've NEVER three-putted a hole, because it doesn't roll away or zip too far past the basket. It works well uphill too, as long as you put enough "oomph" into it; it's more like throwing a rock than a disc.
Posted 11-10-05
Submitted by Will willrichtor@yahoo.com
Level: Beginner
Disc Weights: 169
Review: I picked up an Arrow and an Epic at a local Academy sporting goods superstore because they were both around 8USD a piece. I figured even if they were stinkers, no big loss. My first impression of the Arrow was a very mixed bag. It stinks at putting, it's too fast and very bouncy. It's a decent upshot disc, slow, extremely stable yet will hold a nice hyzer line if thrown that way, and will S-curve similar to a Z-Wasp if anhyzered. I will contest about this disc's glide though. It isn't a FAST disc, so maybe that's why it's said to not have much glide, but that is entirely incorrect. Throw this thing and WATCH as it dies, it floats to the ground like it has a parachute on. It's got incredible glide, it just doesn't keep it's momentum for long. But for upshots, I feel my Aviar, Roc and Wasp are much better discs, hands down. Easier to be consistent with, accurate, and almost as good at staying put once on the ground. I HAVE, however, found a unique use for the Arrow, and as far as I know, I'm the ONLY person using it in such a manner. I let my Dog chew on the Arrow for a day, playing fetch with him, generally roughing the thing up. As damaged as it looks, this did not affect the normal flight characteristics in the SLIGHTEST way. But it has enabled me to use it for a special shot I've developed solely for it, one that I may only get to use 1 out of 250 throws, but when I need it, it's there, when there's no other choice. I throw the arrow as a last ditch upshot disc when I have to get AROUND an obstacle within 100-200 ft of the basket, and a sidearm, backhand, overhand or any other more direct shot is out of the question. What I do is this: I throw the disc overhand, vertical, with ONE finger in the rim(2 produces too much spin, but you may fidn a use for that as well) I aim, if the basket is at 12:00, I aim at about 2:00 to 2:15, and flick it vertically at about 1/4-1/3 strength. You have to be careful to control the angle of the disc as you throw it toward the ground - if youturn your wrist to the right and the disc lands leaning to the right, it's gonna go straight for a long way and turn over right. If you land it nice and vertical, it'll go straight for a good way, and then roll to the left, depending on the spin, may even circle around the basket 2-3 times(depending on if you judged your distance vs snap accordingly) It's a very specialized shot, but after the Hurricane down here in TX, I've found myself using it fairly often, when NOTHING else will work, in situations where the only other option is to just chuck it out there and see how far it gets before it hits MORE brush.
Posted: 06-05-05
Submitted by Nathan nathan.collins@oc.edu Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 300
Throws: Righty
Throwing Style(s): Sidearm
Disc Weights: 160-164
Review: This isnt to bad a putter. I prefer side arm, but find it difficult with the majority of mid-range and putters being best with forearm. I can throw this disc either way. When I first took it out around my home course I missed maybe three long puts out of 18. Now that my excitement has died down with it I dont do as good. But its still great, and wont roll to far away the majority of the time on a missed put from twenty feet away and land where you put it. Although not perfectly straight unless thrown that way, it is very reliable.
Posted: 7-24-04
Submitted by Anonymous
I picked up the aeorbie arrow for 10 bucks at discovering the world in La Mirada, CA. The design is really neat looking and the feel is really nice in the hands. So far I have only seen two colors a bright red, and a bright yellow all in 164-166 weights. It has a rather large and flat diameter. It seems like the arrow is only avaliable in 164-166. Thats kinda the problem for putting. its tough to hit putts from 25 plus feet with this low weight. I moded the disc by placing a quarter and a dime underneath it and it is now about 175 which allows a lot better control for me and my loft/push putt hybrid technique. Side arm the arrow is awesome. Flies straight with a little fade to the right at the end. The arrow TENDS NOT TO ROLL once it lands, and plops down like a bean bag. Throwing the disc flat is really easy and adding hyzer is easy as well. I recommend it for approach more than putts, but mostly because of its light weight. Over all its worth it, hey its only 10 bucks!! Maybe in the future aerobie will make heavier plastic versions.
Posted: 4-25-04
Submitted by Roddy Potter rpotter@nicholsschool.org
Like several other players I know, I initially wrote the Arrow off as a semi-useless oddball like its stablemate the Epic. Lately, though, the Arrow has made a return to my "A" bag and has displaced several other discs in its category.

Arrows seem to come in only one weight, 169. The plastic is pretty sticky and soft, and the uniquely-shaped rim (the dome of the disc is flat and recessed, resulting in a deep thumb-groove on the top) offers a solid and comfortable grip both forehand and backhand. The shape does take some getting used to, however, and was the reason that I initially stopped using the disc.

I throw the Arrow sidearm for approaches and backhand for putting. In both cases it is sensitive enough to do what you ask without being unpredictably touchy. The disc's strength, as its name suggests, is dead-straight flight. It's not a disc that I would attempt a dog-leg with, but for straight approaches, especially with a restricted ceiling, it has no peer. Wind does not bother it, and it handles sidearm snap superbly, with no flutter or turnover. A further advantage of the Arrow is that it plops like a two-by-four when it hits the ground. It has less tendency to skip, slide, or roll than any disc I've tried. It also has excellent chain-grab for putting.

What the Arrow does not possess much of is glide. When slower, floatier shots are called for I still rely on my Z-Wasp. But the Arrow has mostly put my Gator, Rhyno, and Birdie out of business.
Posted: 3-08-04
Submitted by: Submitted by John Boggs jlboggs@fbcbonita.com
The Arrow is a crazy looking little disc. I bought it (and it's ugly sister, the epic) more for novelty reasons than practicallity. But, now having used for a few rounds my tune has changed. This appr/putter is very wide and very stable (169g). i hit my longest putt with it just yesterday and am now using it for longer approach shots. My wolf is in danger of losing it's spot on my bag. The plastic is very soft which is, IMO, a big plus unless you play in alot of sand (and don't plan on bouncing it off alot of trees). The chains pull it in when it doesn't seem physicly possible. but i just rub my eyes and walk to the next tee. yes they're ugly, okay maybe a little too bulky, and it might feel like you are trying to throw a manhole cover...but, i really enjoy mine and it has already shown results. I look forward to many more rounds with my arrow. Oh yeah, it floats! hehe
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page