Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Ching
Velocity

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 165-175g
Plastic: Ching Supreme

Velocity
Flight Rating Category Value What Ching says:
CHING VELOCITY is the absolute best choice for accuracy on long drives and downwind distance. A smooth release with even tempo yields reliable stable flights, with plenty of opportunity for big-arms to hold the hyzer or work this disc over on long high annies.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 03-25-08
Submitted by MaineAssassin wolfnet@adelphia.net
Location: Maine
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 174
Review: The first disc I bought was a first-run Velocity supreme. I loved it and played it until it ended up in a pond. I have since bought another 3 velocity supremes and another 2 juju's. I carry an assortment of discs, but the Ching is my favorite. Change your finger position, and change your flight pattern. From what I've gathered, sidearm throwers should love this disc. It's stupidly stable, has a small high speed fade, and when thrown right will go well over 300' and sit in a direct line in front of the player. I find it to be a versitile disc since you can change the amount of fade and S-curve by changing where you hold it. Breaks in slowly and has survived everything from trees to trucks, ponds to pads. These discs make up the core of my bag.
Posted 07-20-07
Submitted by PowerFlicker Disc Weights: 174g
Review: This disc is my first choice for backhand drives. The grip is so comfortable that it spoils me. I'm reluctant to grab one of my other drivers because I know it won't feel as good in my hand. I wouldn't call this disc an ultra-long range choice, but it is definately accurate. I've parked it next to the pin on holes that are ~320' time and time again. I would consider it just a little overstable; you can get an anhyzer s-curve out of it, but it's slow to turn. The supreme plastic is just that: supreme. I've nailed a few trees with mine and you would be hard pressed to find any damage.
Posted 07-05-07
Submitted by moonlit
Location: MN
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 170
Review: The best thing I can say about this disc is that the blue plastic looks great. This disc is nothing more than a midrange that looks like a driver disc. You are better off buying a Z Wasp that you can control for the distance the Velocity offers. It is by no means the worst disc out there. I just don't use it anymore. An ESP XL would be a good alternative if you want to go longer than the Wasp.
Posted 03-01-07
Submitted by RCLO Disc Weights: 170
Review: This is my driver on virtually every hole I play (except big turnover shots). I simply adjust the hyzer. Ching says zero-stable; true if not thrown super fast. Otherwise, it needs hyzer. Extremely accurate--key is to throw it with zero mung angle (angle of attack). If aimed with nose down, it will fly toward ground. GREAT grip! This is the easiest driver to grip: it takes less gripping pressure than other drivers. One downside is that, after using this disc exclusively for awhile, your grip might be too loose on regular drivers and you'll release them early. My absolute favorite shot with this disc is an approach from ~200, using about 15 degrees anhyzer and 5 degrees negative mung and a sharp, positive snap release. The flight is low with a beautiful flex. Try it!
Posted 06-14-06
Submitted by The Viper Viperfoxtrot@gmail.com
Location: GA
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 170
Review: Guys there is a whole lot of good reviews for this I have been in the sport 11 years and this disc is a sure to need in a bag for advanced to Pro. I would not reccomend for a righty BH beginner the straight flight needs tweeking in mid stride throw. I would recommend it to AD/Pro I like the disc not my favorite by all means but who knows it may need a little beating up before I LOVE it.
Posted 06-06-06
Submitted by Anonymous Disc Weights: 173
Review: This is the one disc that I can forehand. I have trouble with all other discs but this one I can count on to fly. I can throw my wraith much farther backhand but when it comes to forehand this one rules. Not very good for backhanding though, it goes a shorter distance and it has a hard fade. The supreme plastic is amazing, its kinda floppy but extremely durable, it holds up as well as my star plastic discs.
Posted 05-18-06
Submitted by Mike Muggli moog_lee@hotmail.com
Location: Illinois
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 168
Review: Great disc! At first of course, the dimples in the flight plate look freakish and bizarre, but aftre a few tosses you realize something- this disc flies really straight! There is very little fade at the end of the flight. It does of course have a tendency to turn over, but release it hyzer, watch it turn over, then come back. This is a great disc for straight accurate shots, downwind shots with a nice S-curve hyzer flip, and even tight wooded shots. The supreme plastic is nice- good feel and durability seems to be good as well. Go CHING!
Posted 03-14-06
Submitted by Not a Pro Level: Beginner
Disc Weights: 175
Review: This is the straightest disc i have ever thrown. I wish I could get a little more distance out of it. But, I am so impressed with how straight it is im going to buy another one.
Posted 03-06-06
Submitted by T Elliott chef_thomaselliott331@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I am typically a BH thrower, but when I need more distance I throw with a SA. This is the only disk I have ever thrown where I can get as much distance with a BH throw as I can with a SA. It flies very straight with and with a little hyzer it soars. I didn't know the groves were thumb groves I thought they were just for stability. I can't wait to get back out to the course and use the groves for thier intended pourpos and see what kind of distance I can get. I reconmend this disk for everyone as well as the JuJu putter.
Posted 11-12-05
Submitted by Anonymous
Disc Weights: 169
Review: at first i was very impressed with this disc because of the feel. it flies very smooth producing a great s flight. i release this disc at a 45 degree angle ( back hand) and it flatens out and even falls to the right a little befor it comes back to the left.it doesnt come back too hard though. its not thi longest flying disc i have ever tossed but it is very predictable. i would give this disc a 8 out of 10. i own a CHING stinger and i love it. thats why i wanted to try it in the first place. the only problem i have with it is that the plastic gashes realy easy. kind of like the old lightning discs. at only 10 dollars i am pretty satisfied with the disc.
Posted 09-14-05
Submitted by Matt boredom_child@yahoo.com
Disc Plastic: Supreme
Disc Weights: 175g
Review: Picked up this disc the other day, and I have to say I like it. I tend to play with a minimal array of discs, and my previous favorite was a Champion Leopard. With my leopard I normally end up one or two over par. however, I decided to play with the Velocity, and ended up 6 under after 18 holes. It's a nice disc with a fairly stable flight path (little bit of high speed turn, little bit of low speed fade), and it's fairly comfortable to throw. I found that I could throw this disc much further than what I normally throw, so long as I threw it with a bit of anhyzer and a sufficient amount of altitude. The plastic was pretty rubbery and comfortable, but it also seems very durable, and the divots really allow me to get a good snap on the disc. My one complaint is that I still haven't figured out how to get good hyzers/anhyzers out of it, but that's probably more due to flaws in my technique rather than the disc itself. Overall, it's a great straight flyer, and seems as though it will hold any line I put it on once I get used to throwing it.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page