Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Discraft
Elite Z Glide

Type: Midrange
Diameter:
Available Weights:
Plastic: Discraft Elite Z

Elite Z Glide
Flight Rating Category Value What Discraft says:
Great for beginners and pros too, the Glide is easy to throw... and just keeps going! Grab a Glide when you need a little more controlled distance, or a long turnover driver.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 04-19-08
Submitted by John
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 177
Review: The Glide is the first disc I ever threw correctly. If you throw it flat and hard it will turn right gently and then straighten out and just keep going straight forever. Add some hyzer on the throw and it will right itself and fly straight as an arrow. It fades very gently, and settles gracefully at the end of its flight. A wonderful disc, and for me it is a key RHBH disc for long right turning fairways or to avoid hazards to the left.
Posted 09-21-07
Submitted by Martin Melhus aeronaut6@yahoo.com
PDGA: 11296
Location: Evanston, IL
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I bought a Glide-Z on a whim, and took it out last week to play around with it. What a find. I don't have a huge arm, and this disc can do things that no other disc I own, or have ever heard of, can do. When thrown flat or with a little hyzer, it will straighten up, and then curve right (!!!) at the end of the throw (for a RHBH throw.) If thrown with some anhyzer, it will turn over after going about 150' in the air, land on edge, and roll another 100' in fairly tall grass (YMMV, of course.) If thrown with a lot of anhyzer, it will turn over immediately, and roll 100'-150'. Just don't throw it low with a tiny bit of anhyzer, as it will start to turn over but hit before it gets vertical, and break hard left on the roll (RHBH again.) I suspect this is the same for most roller discs, though. And the Z plastic makes it able to take all this punishment. Summary: for those who don't have a cannon arm, this is a great disc for off side doglegs and rollers.
Posted 12-22-06
Submitted by pigiron knoxfrzb@charter.net
PDGA: 22392
Location: TN
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 176
Review: The Glide is one of the best woods disc you can find...I aim it straight up and down almost, snap the heck out of it and it stands and goes straight, And i swear these require almost no effort to throw...instead of muscling a putter or rhyno in the woods for s straight shot, one just has to point a glide and barely flick it, plus it gets driver like skips. I also use mine for a shorter roller and a floating tomahawk approach. Bottom line is ive been playing 10 years, ive been throwing a glide(same one!) for 4
Posted 09-21-06
Submitted by Brandon Swanson societyagainstgravity@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I had given up the search for a useable understable disc for those low-ceiling right turn shots some time ago. I resigned myself to throwing lefty (badly at the time) or flexing an overstable. A disc dealer had me try this one in a field. It did not immediately flip and hit the ground like a stratus or an archangel. Instead I observed a slow turn that did not continue but would reach a point and then hold that line indefinately, not fading back. Fast-forward to this summer: this disc is INSANE down-wind. It flies farther than anything on the market, as it still turns nicely and holds a line forever. Don't even think about touching this disc into even a gentle breeze in the goatee, however. Underrated disc overall.
Posted 06-29-06
Submitted by Bill geographypony@yahoo.com
PDGA:
Location: Michigan
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 200
Throws:
Throwing Style(s):
Disc Weights: 176
Review: This, and the Breeze, are the only discs I use now. I simply do not have the arm for bigger drivers and this disc is very forgiving when I throw 200+ feet. So far, my best scores are generated when I stick with what's simple and this is it. Paired with the Breeze, and you have the perfect beginners set. I don't even bother with a putter, because the Breeze handles that nicely.
Posted 05-30-06
Submitted by Expo Bill bill_hiatt1@hotmail.com
Location: Denver, CO
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 169
Review: My Review: Like a previous reviewer I think this disc is greatly underappreciated. I was lucky enough to find a 169g AceRace Glide lying on the fairway the day I was introduced to the sport. I've been playing for about a year and completely fallen in love with this game. The Glide has been in my backpack ,now a real bag:), since day 1. I keep going away from it thinking I need to be throwing super fast overstable drivers like the Wraith but I keep coming back to that Glide. It takes my best throw with a true long range driver to beat the distance I can get with the Glide and it is so much more controllable. If you have a hole where serious fade means serious trouble (across a sidehill with water downhill to the hyzer side...,) this is the disc that won't be OB and will still get you to the basket. It feels like a smaller diameter version of the Buzzz but a little more understable. If thrown too high it turns right then fades some when it stalls. If thrown low and flat it will just follow a long slow right hand curve. Add a little hyzer and watch it s-curve. I'm sure that someone with a huge arm would overpower the Glide but if you're like me and are more interested in improving your score than generating huge distance you have to try this disc!
Posted 02-22-06
Submitted by David Somers somerda@yahoo.com
PDGA: 26063
Location: Orlando, Florida
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 172g
Review: This disc was introduced to me by a dealer here in Florida. I was looking for an understable disc that would hold an anhyzer line without totally flipping over. I had been using a Stratus for shots where I needed a hard right turn, and the Stratus works fine over shorter distances. But the Stratus was difficult to throw for distance. When thrown with snap, the Stratus flips over without mercy. Giving the Stratus more hyzer on the release allowed it to fly straighter, but I would end up with a small amount of undesirable fade at the end. The Stratus is fine for me for shots under 225 feet. I needed something with a gentler turn without the fade. I tried the Glide. The Glide that I have bears the Ace Race stamp. I don't know if the mold has changed since Discraft released it under the Glide name. I suspect that it hasn't. I am very happy with the Glide. I have been throwing it for over a year now. It is extremely predictable. Thrown hard and flat the disc will move in a long sweeping right hand turn for me (I am a RHBH thrower). The beauty of this flight path is that it exhibits almost no fade. Furthermore, as it's name suggests, it has a lot of glide. Even when thrown with a good bit of height, this disc stays on track and will not flex out. When thrown with a little hyzer, this disc flies very straight. The disc handles cross winds well. Tail winds do not affect it appreciably. I have medium size hands, and the disc has a very comfortable feel during the throw and hit. Honestly, I don't know why more people don't throw this disc. I receive more questions about this disc than any other disc in my bag. When players see the how it flies, many ask what it is. With this disc in my bag, I rarely need to throw a forehand shot. The fact that this is a Z-plastic disc makes it even more amazing.
Posted 10-06-05
Submitted by Anonymous
Disc Weights: 175
Review: i really like this disc for the longer midrange shots it flys very fast and often catches lofty skips, watch what you do with this one it ll get out of hand in a hury if you let it.
Posted 09-23-05
Submitted by Anonymous
Location: euclid, oh
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Throws:
Throwing Style(s):
Disc Weights: 175
Review: Great disc. I know it gets repetative when you use the disc's name in the description but that is what this has, lots of glide. I primarily use this disc for shots of >300' and anything that needs an easy anhyzer. The rim of the disc is very nice on the hand and it will fly out of your hand at any speed. Release it with less effort and it will finish slightly left. Release it with anhyzer and it will finish the same way. It has become my most used disc in my bag (other than the putters of course). well worth the purchase.
Posted: 06-05-05
Submitted by Patrick Amazing1boy@aol.com
Disc Weights: 172
Review: The Z gilde a disc that found its way onto the market as a direct effect of discrafts ace race, suprized the hell out of me when i found one. it is slightly understable but will fly straight as a roc when flown flat. The z material can be slick, but i have never had trouble gripping the rim of my Z glide for over 350\' i drive side arm, and under back hand. I can backhand this disc over 300\' with the consistancy of a multi-purpose. I use mine when i want to use my roc, but the roc wouldnt quite make it. Its great for anhyzer approaches and will hold a line BETTER than a roc on these anhyzer throws, but suffers if you try to throw an extreme hyzer.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page