Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Discraft
Elite Z XS

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.0cm
Available Weights: 165-174g
Plastic: Discraft Elite Z

Elite Z XS
Flight Rating Category Value What Discraft says:
The Elite Z XS has similar flight characteristics to and is slightly more over-stable than the Elite X XS.
Maximum Flight Speed 8.0
Resistance To High Speed Turn 6.5
Amount Of Low Speed Fade 5.0
Propensity To Fade 6.0
Glide 5.5
Relative Distance 8.0
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level 2.5
Predictability 2.5
Uniformity Of Break In Period 5.0
Overall Durability 5.0 Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 07-07-06
Submitted by Josh Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 173
Review: This was my first disc, I would not recommend it as a first disc but it is well worn now and I love it. I know this disc like the back of my hand now and I use it for any and all finesse shots from midrange all the way up to longer ranges. Overstable but not terribly so. A great disc!
Posted 07-02-06
Submitted by moonlit Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 166 gram
Review: I began throwing about four months ago and love this sport. Fortunately, I have a job that allows me to play four to seven times a week. So I have made good progress in a short amount of time. I can throw RHBH 275' to 310' with good aim already.

I visited the discraft site and clicked their disc selection guide and saw the XS described as a SWEET flyer. I clicked to the disc and one of the pros said that if you don't have a rocket arm, you're an excellent candidate to master the XS. Well, I don't have a rocket arm so I went out and bought one.

This disc IS a SWEET flyer! When released flat, this disc is a very straight flyer with just a slight hyzer at the finish. WOW! It is so rewarding to watch a disc fly that straight and that far at only five feet above the ground! The Elite Z XS instantly became my main driver disc.

Yesterday I had a drop-in bird from 330'. Sweet!
Posted 05-04-06
Submitted by JohnCP Location: Maine
Level: Beginner
Disc Weights: 165
Review: Im a beginner who has thrown less than 10 games. A friend gave me a Discraft Elite ZXS during the first game I ever played. At first I was just going to borrow it for the day. I finished the first round useing it for every shot including putting, at 5 over par. (Man I was sore the next day.) Now on my 7th or 8th game I still havnt bought any other disc. Im still using it for a putter and this last Sunday I finished a game at 4 under par. I am thinking of getting other disc in the future. Expecially now that Im reading different reviews, techniques, etc... For now, I cant find anything wrong with the one Im useing. 18 holes, par 72, and about a 6 pack per game; not bad for a beginner. So Im told.
Posted 08-13-05
Submitted by Bryce Cox coxbb@yahoo.com
Location: Denver, CO
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 166
Review: I feel that this disc is highly underrated as it's been around for a while and it's not the "hot" new thing. To fly this sucker well, you really have to crush it! Granted, if you put mega speed on it it will turn over and not come back with any determination! If you hit it with moderate aggression, though, it will fly and fly like a champ valkyrie or beast, straight and far with a nicely overstable finish without tanking too hard (consider the crush/reaper/orc/firebird). This disc also works very well as an overhand hammer/thumber and is super resiliant -- good disc for trees and rocks as it can take a beating and still fly true! It took me a long time to appreciate this disc but I must finally admit that it deserves respect! For predictability, I still prefer the Z XL but the XS is longer and faster.
Posted: 8-13-02
Submitted by Ryan R. <RtypeX@aol.com>
I have thrown this disc alot in the last month. Mine is 165grams and yellow with a "Dalaiwood" stamp.(I used nail polish to remove everything but the big capital "D") It is fast, seems about as fast as my KC Eagle. Started out stable at speed, but has become slightly understable with some wear, although it still looks almost new. Seems to wear well, very little evidence of all the abuse it has recieved. Now it flies comparably to my newer 169g CE Valk. Goes very far when thrown well. If released flat with snap it will turn slightly right and then slowly arc back, with alot of glide. If thrown ahhyzer about 20ft max height it will go right for a long time and then fade nicely to the ground. Hyzer throws will curve left, flatten nicely for about a third of its flight and then gradually fade for the last third. I find this disc to be very versatile and although some have commented on lack! of grip with the Elite Z plastic, I dont have any problem in that area. This disc is usually my first choice for long drives in light or no wind.
Posted: 8-11-02
Submitted by John Hopson <jhopson@grumpybadger.com>
The Elite Z XS loves being thrown hard, fast, and low. If thrown properly it flies beautifully, gliding on and on towards the basket. Unfortunately, the Z plastic is slicker than a greased weasel. Grip it too lightly and it'll slide out of your hand too early, grip it too tightly and it'll end up somewhere to the right of the hole. There's a knack to gripping it so that it doesn't slide but releases properly, and it's different than any other driver I've thrown. As another reviewer said, it's hit or miss whether this disc does what you want it to, but when it does it's a beautiful thing. This is not a disc for beginners or even early intermediates. It's a disc for players with big arms and a delicate touch.
Posted: 4-30-02
By Blake Takkunen - the Webmaster - <blake@discgolf.com>
My Review:
The Elite Z XS is a fast, small diameter slightly overstable driver. I have only thrown a Elite XS a few times, but the Z XS is definitely more overstable. The Z plastic, although much more durable, definitely has a lot of effect on the disc's flight. The Z XS is a bit faster but while the standard XS has resistance to turn similar to an XL or Valkyrie, the Z XS has more like a KC Eagle, Teebird, or Cyclone. For an s-curve, unless you have a lot of arm, you very well may have to throw it anhyzer rather than letting it turn on its own. Fadewise, the Z-XS isn't too bad and quite similar to the standard XS. I put it somewhere in the range of a Polaris LS or Gazelle. Another noticable difference is that the XS will fight to fade sooner at the unfortunate expense of distance. If you are a big fan of the Elite XS, the Z XS may very well find a spot in your bag for shorter drives or on tight holes as it is much more durable. I have found it difficult to find a happy medium when it comes to throwing the Z XS and I know others that feel the same way. Often it feels hit or miss. I'll get all of it or none of it. If you can find your comfort zone with it, you should have great success with this disc but it might take some time and experimenting to reach that. Although this disc isn't very overstable, I do not recommend it as a first driver. If you decide you want to upgrade to more durable plastic, it might be the choice for you.
Posted: 10-02-01
Submitted by Scott Miller <ksarrow@onemain.com>
The Elite ZXS is the Z equivalent of the Elite Pro XS. Elite Z's tend to be more overstable than their Elite Pro counterparts and the ZXS is no exception. It has more overstable low speed fade than the XS. The ZXS is not for beginners - the Z plastics is harder to grip than the Elite Pro line. The ZXS is thinner than an XS and is harder to control. It is easier to turnover to the left, especially into the wind if not thrown flat. This makes it difficult for a beginner to use. I bought a ZXS four months ago when I started playing and it took me two months to get to throw it flat without hyzering it out of control. The key to that statement is that I still had the ZXS after four months - the Z plastic is indestructable and it paid for itself many many times over considering how many other standard discs I taco'd into trees.
Posted: 08-15-01
Submitted by: Andy Newberry <Ken52398@aol.com>
The Discraft Z-XS is my longest driver in most conditions. I've been playing about 16 months and this was my first 500-foot disc. I like the lighter weights (169-170) with little wind or a tail wind and something heavier (173 or 174) for windier days. It's not overstable like much of the new plastic, which will take away your distance if you're not pro level. Crush it with a straight line drive and it seems to carry forever. But if you have a tail wind or left-to-right crosswind, you can throw a high, hard anhyzer and be a thrilled spectator as it travels a 450 foot S curve. It can be used as a hyzer in heavier weights, but if you have a big arm with lots of snap then it has to have the nose down or it can turn over. Disc seems to skip very well as does most of the Z-plastic. They can handle hitting a few trees, too. The ones I've had for 6 months are slightly less stable than the new ones, but the older ones are my choice for those more open 500 or 600-foot holes, especially with a tail wind. Just crush it.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page