Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Aviar Putt and Approach

Type: Putt and Approach
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 145-150, 165-175g
Plastic: Innova Soft DX

Aviar Putt and Approach
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
Aviar Putt & Approach is the number one putter in disc golf. It has won more World Championships than all other putters combined. Our most popular disc used for putts, approaches and short drives. It's soft plastic provides a comfortable grip and makes it stick in the chains.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 02-26-08
Submitted by matt jiggamatt@sbcglobal.net
Disc Weights: 171
Review: nice disc for putting and approaching from around 200'. its got soft and glidey slight fade that seems to crash effortlessly into the chains.
Posted 02-04-08
Submitted by Vince P vinnyc420@comcast.net
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 173 grams
Review: I agree with the guy from Idaho. I'm also in my second year and all i've ever used for putts is my 173gram aviar p & a. It's an amazing disc and has broken in quite nicely. I've recently purchased an Omega Supersoft Putter(awesome putter as well), but i mainly use it for closer putts and my aviar strictly for approaches and long putts. All in all, AVIARS ROCK!!!!
Posted 12-16-06
Submitted by jimbo spruce@redshift.com
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 275
Disc Weights: all
Review: The aviar is a disc more sutied to Higher level players. I got it as my first putter because it was the only one in the store. It has huanted my game untill i got a blunt gumputt on the advice of a friend. it has increased my comfert zone from 10 feet to 20 feet. the aviar is the worst disc without question for a begainer.
Posted 05-30-06
Submitted by Adrien Gunter Gunters3@cableone.net
Location: Pocatello, Idaho
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 174
Review: The Aviar Putt and Approach is an excellent disc. I have been playing for a couple years, and I have been using the same putter all along. The Aviar will hold any putting line I put it on. For approaches, I used to use my Spider, Stingray, or Q-Sentinel, depending on the line I needed to use. The Aviar does all of these lines with ease, be it hyzer, straight, or anhyzer. For putting, I use the Aviar for longer putts because the plastic is nice and stiff. I use an Omega Supersoft for closer putts.
Posted: 2-09-05
Submitted by Layne D
Disc: Innova Aviar (171g)
I am an intermediate right-handed player with 10+ yrs of experience. I only throw overhand when I putt. I am the type of player that will go for a predictable drive and approach vs. trying for a very long drive. I have found the key to a good score isnít a super long drive but a reliable approach & predictable putting throw. I have tried several putters but currently I have tried several putters but currently I only use two putters (Innova DX Aviar & Aero). This review is for the DX Aviar (171). I have found this disk to be my long range putter, or short approach disc. It has just a tiny bit of fade and seems to not drop like my Aero does. This putter is shaped very similarly to the Aero and I have found that I can put further out than when I use my Aero. Although my Aero flies perfectly straight it drops after about 20ft. The Aviar seems to glide a bit further and it fades a little so I think it is a very natural short approach or long range putter. I love the DX plastic, it has just enough stick that it is easy for me to throw and control. I actually tried the Champion Aviar but did not like the slippery feel of the champion plastic. If you canít find an Aviar I think a similar disk would be a Discraft Soft Magnet.
Posted: 7-14-04
Submitted by tyrolskier123@yahoo.com
The Aviar is a must have disc if you are seriuos about the game. I prefer the older beedless Aviars that is a bit harder than the new softer aviar. The old ones handle well on the shots that are just a bit to far for a roc. Its aldo nice to have a beat up light weight aviar that you can use on turn over shots. The old Put and Aproach Aviars are wonderful when you have a straight on shot that yuo need a lot of glide for.
Posted: 04-26-02
Submitted by Brent Fiege <Xskepticx@aol.com>
This is by far the most popular putter. I love it myself. It has great float and a nice straight flight. I even use them for midrange as well. They fly very good when the roc is a little too long. The guys at innova like to mix up the plastic in these putter a lot lately. There are quite a few aviars that i own that feel completely different. I tend to like them in the medium stiff plastic (circa 1 year ago). The aviars found in stores right now (assuming they are new shipment) are very soft and feel much like jk and kc plastic. I dont like this plastice because then dont have as smooth of a flight as a stiffer plastic. Try a few different aviars im sure you will find one you like.
Posted: 02-18-02
Submitted by Jon Turner <oxdisc@thets.demon.co.uk>
The Aviar putter is a fairly hard disc and flies straight to very slightly overstable. It is extremely controlable and has a good range making it the putter of choice for long putts from difficult positions. I've also found mine to be pretty good in windy conditions. The disc feels good in the hand and with a comfortable grip, allowing it to be used for other shots and throwing styles as well (forehands etc.). For courses where the targets are not baskets, I find the Aviar to be very useful as ther plastic is relatively hard (compared to soft putters) and it can take quite some damage without becoming unusable. However, for chain gripping, the Aviar needs to be placed in the basket properly or it can bounce out. All in all, a fine disc - I may not use mine as much as soft putters but I'll throw it at least once or twice in a round and be very glad I have one!
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page