Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Champion Edition Leopard

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 165-175g
Plastic: Innova Champion Edition

CE Leopard
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Leopard is our longest line drive flier, it should be everyone's first ultra long range driver. It is useful for long straight shots, gentle hyzers and turnover shots. The Leopard also makes a great roller once it becomes "experienced".
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 02-06-08
Submitted by Penns
Location: Pueblo, CO
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 168
Review: I have a Champ Leopard that weighs out exactly at 168.5, which strangely is my ideal weight for the widest range of discs. The first time I threw it was from the pro tee on 13 at Pueblo, CO city park course. It flew flat during the high speed turn, then crept up and to the right, aiming at the rock wall at about a 45 degree angle. It made a huge smack sound. I thought that'd be the end of that disc and that the rim was all torn up. It had a little ripple running through the rim, but no scrapes or cracks. Ever since it's been the perfect fairway driver. For some reason, a new leopard of the same weight will not have the same flight characteristics. It's like I smacked a third of the fade right out of the disc on the first throw. I throw forehand, and this disc doesn't fly absolutely flat and straight for me, it's more like a really long and narrow s-type turnover flight. I wouldn't trade this thing for an unlimited supply of new discs.
Posted 08-01-07
Submitted by tomn8r tomn8r2@hotmail.com
Location: Las Vegas NV
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 225
Disc Weights: 150G
Review: I throw a Champion Leopard in the 150g gummy plastic with great results. This is a great disc for tailwinds & slice shots. The thick rim makes this disc durable, yet it is sharp enough to have good speed & carry. This disc is also great for sidewind shots becuase its not so overstable that it will turn out too soon, giving extra yardage. IMHO the Leopard is indispensible for all levels of players...but different wieghts for different players.
Posted 04-27-07
Submitted by Chris Barns Level: Amateur
Disc Weights: 175 g
Review: The Champion Leopard is one of the best discs made. This is my go to disc when I am in trouble. Released with a slight hyzer, this disc will fly perfectly straight. Add less hyzer and a lot of snap and you get the best s-curve. If you anhyzer it, it gradually turns over to the right and straightens out. Perfect for any shot under 300 ft or if there is a narrow path to the basket. This is one of my favorite discs and if I just had one disc, it would be the Leopard.
Posted 04-26-06
Submitted by Isaias Benitez le_futbol@hotmail.com
Location: Tyler, TX
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 167
Review: This is the perfect midrange drive in my mind. I usually throw this disc for my 200-250 drives. It is the perfect disc to throw without using so much force so you can concentrate more on trying to ace the basket.
Posted: 10-21-03
Submitted by Kelly Sereda controlvoltage@hotmail.com
Having borrowed a friends Shark, I began playing about 5 years ago. I quickly realised that a true driver was a necessary addition to be able to crush those long drives (and for being able to deuce anything over 300 ft, lady luck willing). I picked up the CE Leopard as my second driver last year after having decided my Ching Bomb wasn't getting the distance I was seeing other players achieve on the course; and noticed significant yardage gains right away. I've since added several discs and have been able to define the CE Leopard as a very rugged, long distance driver, and my go to disc when I need to rescue myself from trouble in the form of brush and trees. It makes a great tomahawk disc in this role. Its rigidity allows me to blast through the leaves if necessary, carry on over the obstruction before gently turning over onto its back for a soft, controlled landing safely back on the course. This same rigidty and its balance allow it to roll for ages if you choose to escape in this fashion, but at times I wish I could tell it to stop as it tumbles and wheels it's way right past the pin. Off the tee, I find this disc to be a relatively safe bet, allowing for a little variation in delivery to produce usable drives after a usual medium left fade. When I manage to nail my delivery I'm treated to a high speed, right moving shot that gently turns itself back to the left as it loses momentum, often with some good skippage at the end squeezing a few more feet out of its long glide. The CE Leopard is fairly consistant, not too wild and and given its array of usefulness, features prominently in my game bag.
Posted: 08-08-02
Submitted by Daniel Ledford <Daniel.Ledford@mercer.com>
The CE Leopards are a stable to slightly understable disc, similar to the TL. When molded in the translucent, very grippy CE plastic, this disc is transformed into a great distance disc for any level. I picked up a 155g CE Leopard and gave it a try and on my second throw, got it over 425', equaling my drives with a teebird and valkyrie. These lightweight Leopards would lead one to believe that they would be good for nothing other than rollers for those with good power, but I could only manage a slight, very natural S-curve in mine when thrown flat in calm conditions. In fact, my 168g KC Teebird (near new) had more of a high speed turn than this Leopard. All in all, I have found a new favorite distance disc for calm to slightly breezy conditions. This is a very surprising disc, trust me.
Posted: 06-04-02
Submitted by Don Mordecai <dmordecai@hotmail.com>
My current favorite disc is the CE Leopard. I throw a 175. I can throw a huge anhyzer with it or a small "s" that comes right back to the middle. I can also throw a slight hyzer with it to go through trees or just around a corner. this disc works well when the wind is from behind or from the left to the right. I think the heavier weight makes it more over stable but I am not sure because this is the only one I have ever owned. If I need a disc to just go straight, this is the one. I also use it on low ceiling shots. Pick one up and give it a throw.
Posted: 07-24-01
Submitted by Skythediscguy <skye@pinc.com>
Tested Weight: 169g
I can't say enough about this disc. On huge rips it tends to flip over (understable). But on mid range drives...60-90yds it is so easy to control. Heizers or flat with a late fade are no problem. due to the ce plastic it is super durable...for example, we play a local course that is 50% on pavement, I can pull a low drive that finishes the last 30 yards sliding on pavement...yet the bottom is still virtually smooth. Also trees don't seem to leave a mark. the CE leopard is also very fast, very very fast. when thrown for a hammer/tomohawk this disc takes quite a while to fully corcscrew, the end result being more distance for this type of toss. Overall----distance--great
------------speed---great
------------control--great...I think I need to go buy another!
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page