Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Champion Roadrunner

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 165-175g
Plastic: Innova Champion

Champion Roadrunner
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Champion Roadrunner is a long-range distance driver with lots of glide. It makes an excellent finesse driver or long range roller. Power throwers can use this disc for long turnover shots and rollers. Less powerful throwers can use this disc for long, straight shots or low tunnel shots. Best Distance Driver for turnover shots.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 02-04-08
Submitted by Anonymous erickevorkian@comcast.net
PDGA:
Location: Norwood
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 300
Throwing Style(s):
Disc Weights: 168
Review: Just started playing within the last two months. When i first started, driving was a very unstable part of my game. I borrowed the roadrunner from a friend one day and haven't gone back. It has pretty good control and is reliable once you get a feel for it.
Posted 07-30-07
Submitted by Dustin drm2010.dustin@gmail.com
Disc Weights: 172
Review: This is a great little disc. Whenever I am playing in the thick woods it is the disc I go for. I can hawk or thumb this baby through anything! It flips over with just a little strength, and it lands flat on its top, giving me some great slides over the rough turf. Also, this disc is great for someone who is working on their backhand like me, because of its understablility. The roadrunner is a great disc for the woods because I can tomahawk it anywhere and the plastic is tough enough to handle anything.
Posted 05-22-07
Submitted by the Gnomehunter higleyas@uwec.edu
Location: Eau claire
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 168
Review: When ever I have to ask, "How the heck do I do this," I reach for my roadrunner.

I received my first roadrunner as a birth-day gift two years back but ended up loosing it in a snow bank soon after (Wisconsin winters suck!!). While practicing around the house I happened to find my old roadrunner. Major props to Innova's Champion day-glow plastic: After over a year in the elements and sun there was no warping or fade (color kind) to the plastic.

In the months after finding my "lucky disk" I have lightened my bag by five discs; who needs them when you have a roadrunner. I'm not a fan of the thumber/tomahawk but this disk will consistently flip over at the same point. This allows you to bounce the back of the disk off a slight incline or throw high around the out side top of a tree and have it wrap around to the basket. My favorite up-hill trick shot is to face down hill and boomerang (RHF) it high around trees to land in a basket 20ft to the left and above me.

To top it all off just this week a learned that by throwing under speed but with power you can get a 150ft+ tunnel shot that is straight as an arrow.
Posted 10-22-06
Submitted by MR matt_rgr@yahoo.com
Location: South Jersey
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I own a bag full of drivers by every maker and nothing flies as consistent as thr roadrunner. Blows my sidewinder in accuracy and distance. Sidewinder sometimes goes anny and never comes back. Accurate helix wanted grab a roadrunner.
Posted 10-19-06
Submitted by Gman PDGA: 26856
Location: Minneapolis
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 275
Disc Weights: 166
Review: I picked up an xout roadrunner just to give it a try. The first thing I noticed was the unique leading edge. It has a convex lower leading edge. This disc looks like what the quarter k was suppose to look like "think bullet". I don't know what happed to the lower leading edge of the quarter k but the one I have is not nearly as bullet like as the roadrunner. I am old so I throw lighter discs, I picked up a 166 and loved it the first time it left my hand. It does what I thought the sidewinder would do. It starts a gentle turn shortly after release and maintains a smooth turn until it runs out of steam and returns to straight then fades just a little at the end. Of course if you release it high it will fade more at the end, think huge s turn. When I throw the sidewinder it tends to go straight for along time before it starts to turn and then fades a lot at the end. The sidewinder fade very often cancels out any turn I may have forced. Can you tell I love the roadrunner?
Posted 08-25-06
Submitted by Heath Location: Raleigh
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 169
Review: I picked up this disc out of the factory seconds bin. It's been in my bag since that day. It took me a few days to get used to it, but now it's one of my primary drivers. It does a nice gentle s-curve when I throw it rhbh...ending up pretty much stright down the middle when all is said and done. If you've got a wide fairway, this one works well and has plenty of glide. It doesn't fade nearly as much as most of the other Champion plastic drivers I have.
Posted 03-14-06
Submitted by Wes Keppy weskeppy@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 174
Review: DX leopard + 20' and a tiny more stability. More predictable than the sidewinder. I'm a RHBH hyzer snapper, I use it for long anhyzers.
Submitted by FIL Thiefofalwayz@yahoo.com
Location: Orlando, FL
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 169
Review: This disk is sooo much better than a sidewinder, much more predictable...thrown with nose down and a good snap it hovers at 12 to 15 feet off the ground for a very reliable S curve... I like it most for a high anhyzer (250' to 300', depending on the snap)... it's glide makes it float right into the sweet spot for an easy one under par on a hard righ angled hole. (I throw RHBH). I've yet to try it as a roller as the course I play is more like a spounge than grass and doesn't work for rollers. I recomend this disk for intermediate to beginner players who suffer from the hyzer curse when it comes to other high speed long distance drivers. They will be able to make it fly well... where as advanced players will be able to make it dance....9 out of 10 in my book.
Posted 12-03-05
Submitted by josh barling mistuhmiles@yahoo.com
PDGA: 25091
Location: Liiiiiiiiive OOOOOak
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 170-175
Review: i like to try new discs as they come out and i've tried alot of bad ones. when i got a roadrunner it was intriguing enoug that i kept it in my bag. it is now my roller disc and has added 50-75 feet on to my roller. after throwing it many time it is a great disc for high s shots or long anhyzers. it definatly make the turnover shot easy as it turns right brand new. i got one for my 10 year old son who is learning and it fly straight for him and he can even stand it for acuracy. this is a disc you will have to work with but it is a great addition to any bag
Posted 10-31-05
Submitted by Mike mike@bearclaws.org
Location: Poconos, PA
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I picked up the new roadrunner and can it was a graet pickup. When i first threw the disc....it wouldnt anhyzer unless i threw with a heavy anhyzer. After i got beat up by a few trees, the disc became money. The disc is faster than a leopard or cheetah. It anhyzers just as much as my sidewinder(174g.) Overall, this disc is a super fast stingray! Definitely found a home in my bag!
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page