Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Champion Sidewinder

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 145-175g
Plastic: Innova Champion

Champion Sidewinder
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Sidewinder is a fast flyer with a predictable high speed turn and lots of glide. This disc can add distance to anyone’s drive, but is especially useful for those with less power. The Sidewinder is our best disc for long turnover shots and long distance rollers. Even disc golfers who have never had much success throwing a roller shot, will be amazed at the results they can achieve with the Sidewinder.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 04-05-08
Submitted by Anonymous speltboy@yahoo.com
PDGA: 18159
Location: Colorado
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 175
Review: Love this disc! I've never had tremendous distance (topping out at 400'), but can reach that distance with this disc easier than I ever could before. I've gotten tired of trying to throw as hard as I can every time I have a wide open drive and decided to "disc down" to a less stable driver and work on technique and snap. Enter the Sidewinder. These discs are fantastic for hyser-flips and fly straight as can be for me. I have learned to ease off on the power just slightly but am getting just as much or more distance than before (I used to throw Surges). Also, not trying to throw as hard as possible has increased my accuracy as well! I use 172 to 175 gram Champ SW's typically, but I carry a 161 Star one that is the first controllable roller disc I've ever owned - over 400' and where I want it to go too! Can you tell I love this disc?
Posted 03-29-08
Submitted by Dustin DutNC@yahoo.com
Location: Denver
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I have tried several discs to fill the hard bootleg/roller slot I have had open. This by far is the best of the best. Understable enough to hold an anhyzer line from start to finish but still not a very high risk of accidentally throwing a roller. When thrown flat this disc slowly drifts to the right then settles down nicely at the end of its flight, but where it really shines is the big anhyzer paths thru tight fairways and the 90 deggree turns you need to make. I have also had great success with this disc as a distance roller.
Posted 10-08-07
Submitted by Jesse carlson jessecarlson3@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 168-175
Review: The sidewinder is a very versitile disc. I can go hyzer, anhyzer and straight shot depending on the angle of release. I am a side are right hand shot and i find i can nearly mimic a right hand backhand with this disc. Very controllable if you take the time to know this disc. I like to toss my anhyzers to where they fade about 4 ft or so off the ground and this disc is very adept and consistant about doing this. A very exellent choice for side arm shots. Reliable, consistant, looooong, accurate so pick one up!!!!!!!!!!
Posted 08-31-07
Submitted by Eddy G edglatt@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 174
Review: Great disc right out of the box. This disc is a hyzer flip king. Goes about the same distance as my Valks, but tends to hold the line a bit longer. I have still yet to try some monster anny's with it but I bet it would be great for that as well. All-in all more controllable than my champ roadrunner and longer than my valk's. It will make it's place in my bag.
Posted 07-30-07
Submitted by Thomas Wojtkiewicz tomn8r2@hotmail.com
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: na
Disc Weights: 150G
Review: This is my new favorate disc. I've been playing for over 10yrs now & am the type of player that likes to try all type's of discs(because i dont have a lot of power). I like other discs for different types of shots & dont throw all 150's, but am going back to 150 class for certain discs. In a 150g (for me) the SW is very stable into a light headwind & great into a tail wind. I also have a 162 Star SW & generally dont like the feel of Champion plastic (too slick), but the 150g is easy to grip & S-out. I'm out-driving some friends & getting comments like, (you've been practicing have'nt you). I would highly recommend the SW for any beginner or low to moderate power player. I would not try to throw it in a heavy headwind.
Posted 06-15-07
Submitted by Andrew Hampton arhalh@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 161
Review: I have to say I am disappointed with this disc. Both my JK valkyrie and roadrunner blow by this disc 50 feet or more. This disc goes straight for about 200 feet and dies hard left for RHBH. when I can get 300 out of a valkyrie or road runner the sidewinder rides the pine in my bag.
Posted 10-06-06
Submitted by Craig Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 175
Review: This disc is a great flip-hyzer disc. Throw it from a hyzer angle (amount of hyzer depends on power and the amount of wear on the disc) and it flips a little past flat and flies for a very long distance, then fades back to land pretty much straight in front of you. I find that my longest throws with it are around 350' and that's about equal to, or just under my Wraith, but with more consistency than my Wraith. I use it on a relatively open 300' hole, and I've had a few narrow misses, with the disc passing the basket chain high, and ending up 25'-30' past. I throw it further than my DX Valk, Teebird, Pro Orc. It is also a lot less nose angle sensitive than my Champion Beast, and a touch longer when comparing ideal throws from each.

A word of caution, though - I believe that this disc is ideal for those with 285' - 335' of power. After that, I bet the disc gets too unpredictable, as it will start flipping too much and not coming back - and otherwise behave unpredictably.
Posted 09-11-06
Submitted by Chris Slattery Slatc3109@uwc.edu
Disc Weights: 168
Review: I have never thrown BH i alway throw SA, my friend recently told me that i should buy a sidewinder and i did. the instant i threw this disc i knew i would be buying backups. it added at least 100 feet to my throws and is very accurate. since i throw sidearm it is hard for me to find a disc that flys left and keeps that path, once this disc was worn in it make throwin on hole that go left easy i snap my wrist a lil more and get a good fast spipn going and the disc will fly left and keep its path. i recomend this disc to any SA player who wants to have a disc that they can throw left on a drive. (remember its gotta get broken in a lil first)
Posted 03-25-06
Submitted by vidyogamer kg4wgb@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I bought the disc originally to replace my extremely worn cheetah. I decided when i got it I would use it for a fairway driver. Then I teed off with it on a hole near my house with it sidearm and I was hooked. I put the disc two thirds of the way down a 370+ ft hole. It was the best side arm shot I have ever put up in my 1 year of playing. So I tried it again on another hole that set up to the right with another sidearm shot and parked it too, so then Itried it with a backhand shot and I was scraping my jaw off the tee pad. This disc is amazing!!! I definetly recomend buying this disc.
Posted 03-03-06
Submitted by Jay Lewis jaylewisstl2@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 174g
Review: I use this disc for long, backhand drives and for rollers. A couple of weeks ago, I threw my longest roller to date on level ground at 425', and i'm usually a player who throws just under 300'. This disc is accurate, and it gets good distance. There's not much more you can ask for.
Posted 10-15-05
Submitted by Alex kenshinhimura12@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 170 g
Review: The sidewinder is my absolute favorite driver. I can make extremely long range S-curves for having only 2 month's exp, my best probably around 300 feet. I can make this disc glide very far in a straight line, then it fades a short distance. This disc has given me many birdies, and maybe 2 or 3 near aces where it scratched chain or hit the basket or the basket pole.
Posted 09-30-05
Submitted by Josh meesier42@hotmail.com
Location: Rockville, MD
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 167
Review: I just bought this 167 Champ Sidewinder, I love it. First throw 275' straight as an arrow. Never climbed over 12' off the ground, hit a tree about 4'. I kept up the practice and pretty quickly got to over 300' consistently. I love the way this thing throws, can't wait to play a round with it.
Posted 09-16-05
Submitted by smokey102977 david.dick@umontana.edu
PDGA: 27338
Location: Missoula, Montana
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 150, 154, 161
Review: I use the 150 sidewinder on long flat holes. You put a little hyzer on it and rip it, the disc goes out fast and flattens out, turns over slightly and then fades ever so slightly back, the 154 is used for a straight drive with out hyzer it turns over a little and fades back. The 161 is used for long flat drives without turn over and a minor fade back to the left for those long easy doglegs to the left. The longest throw for this disc was on a 500 ft. hole with a little down hill using the 161 I ripped a 450 ft. shot.
Posted 09-07-05
Submitted by Cody Lee cslastboyscout@gmail.com
Disc Weights: 175 grams
Review: I bought this disc as an X-Out just to try out the X-Out line and see how they fly compared to regular champion plastic. This disc flew just like my friends champion sidewinder so we left it alone. Well, about a week ago, I saw a friend of mine running some hellacious anhysers with this disc. So, i pulled mine out of the trunk and sure enough this thing is like a magic missle. At my local course their is a real nice through the trees shot, or a wide long anhyser shot. Well, i had been practicing throwing a champion beast and orc anhyser, but they always s-curve out of the line i put it on. First throw with the sidewinder and I was sitting 10 feet from the basket. Second shot with it was under the basket. This is a disc I will definately spend the time getting to know for those shots that a side arm is almost too much. Put this on a gentle hyzer it stays. Powerful hyzer and it runs it like a champ. This disc also runs real stright like a valkyrie. I just lightened my bag by 2 discs and replaced it with one. This disc is slightly faster and if you run it was a little more hyzer than a Valk, it will do the same thing but with more distance.
Posted 09-02-05
Submitted by anonymous
Location: Calgary
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 168
Review: I own a 168 red champion sidewinder. I really feel like this is a revolutionary disc if there other was one, since to my knowledge there is no other ultra long range understable driver on the market (the closest thing i can compare it to is the Xpress, but they arent nearly as long). It is a great addition to anyones bag, especially mine. I would have to disagree with innovas flight ratings when comparing the sidewinder to the Archangel. Both of these discs are rated as understable at high speeds, which is true. But the best thing about the SW is that once you get that nice anhyzer line going, it holds it for the duration of its flight, suprisingly this is how it will fly right out of the box. I find that the archangel will still fade left with every throw, making it incredibly innaccurate and unpredictable. I use the sidewinder for loooong anhyzer lines, as well as straight ahead tunnel shots that i dont want a big fade on. It is also the premier disc on the market for Hyzer Flip shots. Some will also recommend it as a long range roller but i dont throw many of these so i dunno. On top of this it has a great feel to it with a rim thats slightly wide but still very easy to grip. So if you are looking for a long range turnover disc there simply is no other way to go, get this disc.
Posted 08-21-05
Submitted by Ryan Traeger
ryyedogg@yahoo.com
Location: Fort Collins CO
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 170
Review: My friends got me into disc golf about 7 months ago and I have been hooked ever since. It took some work before my drives would go straight and flat. I averaged about 150'-200' ft. with valkyries and beasts throwing mostly backhand. When my first set of discs were stolen, I didn't hesitate to replace them. I read about the sidewinder having great speed and glide, so I decided to pick up a 170g SW for an understable driver. I wasn't too impressed by the first few throws I had with it, but I was still throwing good with my other drivers. It was actually my form that needed work. I started watching videos of pros throwing, and adapted to a better technique that is still improving now. I started throwing the sidewinder hard on a level plane and was amazed by the distance it flew. With almost an unnoticable fade when thrown flat, the SW is a very predictable stable/understable disc that works well for long drives, turnovers, downhill shots, and throwing in moderate winds. One day I threw on a long downhill hole with wind gusts of about 7-8 mph and was shocked to see my longest drive which was 375+ ft.. The hole was only about 315 ft.! I would actually prefer a beast or valkyrie for shorter, harder fading drives or sidearm throws. Other than that, my sidewinder has become my main driver. I picked up a 150g SW thinking it would go a little further, but it flew the same and did not feel nearly as good at the release as my heavier SW. I ended up selling it to a friend who started getting longer and longer drives by using it.
Posted: 4-08-05
Submitted by greg_rogotzke@hotmail.com
I just picked up one of these discs, and from the first throw I knew it was a good one. It stayed pretty much straight on, with a slight fade at the end; and the best part, it went a long ways! I've been playing disc golf for four years now, and i think i can make a pretty good asessment of what a disc feels like, and this is a good one(atleast for my style of play). I'm a righthanded and predominantly forehander thrower. I think, in time, this disc could be a good tomahawk disc as well. Pick one up, i hope you enjoy it as much as i have!
Posted: 3-21-05
Submitted by synchrofruits@gmail.com
as soon as i saw the description for this disc on innova's website i knew i had to try one out as it sounded like the perfect driver for me: easy to turn over, fast, and lots of glide. their description was dead on and i have found it to be my most used driver since i started throwing it, replacing the valkrye in my bag. i'm a big fan of plastic that flips easier (understable) because my main throws are a hyzer flip thrown low and hard or a high delicate anhyzer that turns for a long time but stays in the air long enough to come back to the middle. this disc works great for my amount of power and those two shots (i can throw about 320' in a field with a good rip). i've seen people with a lot of power use these discs very effectively, too. this is a finesse disc that should be released with hyzer so it can do a little air bounce, flip up and glide straight for a long ways. i highly recommend it for people looking for a disc they can turn over easier. it flies like a flippier, faster, glidier valkrye! i highly recommend it.
also: i've picked up a 159g one and i don't like it nearly as much as my 170 and 172... the main reason being it's very flimsy and doesn't feel as nice in my hands.
Posted: 3-21-05
Submitted by John Coad
I have been disc golfing for 6 months, so I am still learning. I picked up the new Innova Champion Sidewinder(169), to be a driver to accompany my Champion Viking, Tee-bird, and JLS. The Sidewinder has been a very level, reliable disc for me. I am right handed, and throw exclusively back-hand. The Sidewinder is very consistent in its flight pattern. It stays firm out to the right, and has very little to no fade left, at the end. I often rely on this disc with tight throwing conditions, and OB to the left. It stays straight and true, and rarely gets away from me. I am averaging distances between 180-210 feet, but that is sure to increase with my ability. As a beginner, I have much confidence in this disc, cause I know exactly what it will do, and I can rely on it every throw. I already prefer it over my Viking, and I am excited about the prospect of getting to use it as a roller in the future.
Posted: 2-09-05
Submitted by Layne D
Disc: Innova Champion Sidewinder (174g)
I am an intermediate right-handed player with 10+ yrs of experience. I throw both side arm and overhand (pinch grip). My main 2 goto drivers are my Champion Valkyries (150 & 171) and my Beast (165). I am the type of player that will go for a predictable drive and approach vs. trying to get a very long drive and a shorter approach. I have recently picked up several new drivers one of which was a Champion Sidewinder(174). After several weekends of using my new Sidewinder(174) I find myself reaching for it on medium length drives as well as technical approach shots. This disk is very predictable and behaves similarly to my Valkyrie's. It works great when "threading the needle", and navigating trees and obstacles. I am not sure what the official stats are on this new Innova disc but I have noticed the Sidewinder(174) does not have too much of a low speed fade and glides very well for a driver. My last game had light to mild unpredictable gusty winds and this driver seemed to behave very well in "bumpy" wind conditions, although not quite as well as my Classic Viper. I think this is a great all around driver, and I would guess it to be a fantastic driver for beginners. Several of my golf buddies have commented on how the disc was very predictable. I can get more distance from my Valks but this disc is definitely becoming one of my favorites. Please note: I have only thrown this disk sidearm twice, and I did not like the way it felt. I will probably only use the Sidewinder(174) as an overhand disc only. My side arm discs are much ligher, Valkyrie(150) & Eagle (155). I did not like throwing the Sidewinder(174) side arm perhaps because of its heavy weight or because I am used to my other two side arm drivers .
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page