Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Starfire

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 165-175g
Plastic: Innova Champion

Champion Starfire
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
Maximum Flight Speed
Resistance To High Speed Turn
Amount Of Low Speed Fade
Propensity To Fade
Glide
Relative Distance
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level
Predictability
Uniformity Of Break In Period
Overall Durability Description of the Ratings System.



Player Reviews

Posted 03-11-08
Submitted by Thomas Hudson t.hudson82@yahoo.com
Location: Austin
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 172
Review: Essentially I bought this disc to increase the drive length of my sidearm shots. On average I can throw around 310-320 feet with this disc, where as my previous long sidearm driver, the discraft Elite Z talon would only go about 280-290. I don't have the biggest arm and would recommend this disc to someone looking for a longer sidearm driver. Although I assume you could go further with a tee-rex or destroyer, this disc is perfect if you don't have that extra snap.


Posted 02-26-08
Submitted by matt jiggamatt@sbcglobal.net
Disc Weights: 172
Review: great forehand disc and bh headwind driver. not as long as a few others but very dependable. nice for tommys too. i prefer a few grams less than max weight for added glide.
Posted 12-20-07
Submitted by Ben Taylor krazybronco2@yahoo.com
PDGA: 34173
Location: ga
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 171
Review: i first bought this disc becuase i wanted something close to a TL but longer and instanly fell in love with this disc because it flew like my TL but was about 30ft longer then as i got some more snap (lhfh)i got a nice s curve and is my second longest disc behind my wraith turns alot for beginners but as you get more snap you will get a nice s curve

then i started working on my backhand and if i let it go right it will fly flat and skip hard and i can hit around 275ft with a ok drive
Posted 09-13-07
Submitted by Vinnyc420 vinnyc420@comcast.net
Location: Chicago, IL
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 174
Review: I was also unhappy with my starfire. I have used my Champion Valkryie and i fell in love with the thing. I can make that disc do some crazy stuff. The starfire turns way to much to the left. Im my opinion.. i wouldnt buy one ever again.
Posted 07-14-07
Submitted by Anonymous Disc Weights: 175
Review: Found this disc in the woods and it totally opened up my distance potential, when using a forehand shot.

If thrown with plenty of nose down, spin, and speed, it will fly like a laser beam, very straight, fast, and far, before ending in a abrupt and hard fade. I can get it to 350' with a line drive shot 5' high. Havent even tried S curving or max d with it yet.
Posted 05-23-07
Submitted by Rick portuese@buffalo.edu
Location: Buffalo
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 175
Review: bought it on a whim as a first champion plastic disc. I had been throwing backhand about 300ft but wanted to add distance so have started going forehand. This disc definitely takes some getting used to, but can really fly when it gets enough spin and speed. Too little of either, or too much height and it will take off quickly in the wrong direction. I can get it about 425, slightly further and more stable than the dx wraith I have been using. I don't like using it backhand and can't achieve a flat drive. Stick with the archangle for backhand drives.
Posted 06-23-06
Submitted by Damen Brooks damen.brooks@gmail.com
Location: Fresno, CA
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 168
Review: It's important to keep in mind that the Champion Starfire is different from a Pro Starfire or Star SL in every way but speed. The numbers (10 4 0 3) are the same as a champion Orc. I think the Starfire dives a bit harder than the Orc at the end of its flight. I carry it in my bag for hyzer shots and not a whole bunch else.

As far as mistakes go, throwing the disc too high or without enough spin will give you some pretty ugly fades.
Posted 06-12-06
Submitted by Will Roan willrichtor@yahoo.com
Location: Southeast Texas
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 168, 174
Review: I have two champion starfires - a Glow CFR 174 and an Orange 168. Note: these are NOT the same mold as the Pro Starfire, Starfire L. These shouldn't even have shared the same name. Starfire X is the other name for them. They have the bottom rim of an orc, with a thick edge like a Monster, and a domey top for good glide. They are a hair slower than a wraith or Tee Rex, but are much better discs all around. Forget the Tee Rex, THIS is your longer faster Teebird, seriously. Snap them hard and flat, and they go straight for a LONG way, even low to the ground, before hyzering out and skipping. They can be turned over out of the hand for major distance IF given enough height to fade back out. They will hold a great hyzer line, they are great skippers, fantastic sidearm discs, and even as domey and glidey as they are, they will resist high speed turn in even the fiercest headwinds, while remaining much straighter and longer than a firebird or monster. THIS is the best driver Innova makes, period. Speed of an Orc, glide of an Archangel, flight path of a teebird. If you want a disc that will do pretty much everything for you, except hold a sharp Anny line and roll, then this is it.
Posted 06-02-06
Submitted by Larry K larmo4@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I am a beginner who has been playing for a year or so. After playing with my friends discs I decided to finally get some of my own. I was told that the Champion Starfire was a disc that would really help me get more distance out of my drives. I have been very unhappy with this advice. I have never had a throw go straight...not even close. This disc hooks so far left that I end up way off target. I thought at first that it was my throwing style, but my 2 friends who throw 250-300 and have been playing a few years cannot get a good throw from it either. I would not recommend this disc unless you have a huge left turn to get around an obstacle. I am sticking to my Leopard!!!
Posted 03-30-06
Submitted by Tommy Poplawski Jeenyusx13@aol.com
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I bought this disc but never really threw it until a few weeks ago. I finally took it out of my bag and wow!!!!! I now can get about 50-90 feet more on my drives. That really helps out in the open field shots.

Its hip to be square Kennett Square Disc Golf Club "Square Discs"
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page