Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Champion Valkyrie

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 145-175g
Plastic: Innova Champion

CE Valkyrie
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Valkyrie has a combination of speed, flight characteristic and glide such that heavier weights fly extremely long upwind and lighter weights get extreme range downwind.
Maximum Flight Speed 9.0
Resistance To High Speed Turn 5.5
Amount Of Low Speed Fade 6.5
Propensity To Fade 5.5
Glide 5.5
Relative Distance 8.0
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level 2.5
Predictability 2.5
Uniformity Of Break In Period 5.0
Overall Durability 5.0 Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 02-26-08
Submitted by matt jiggamatt@sbcglobal.net
Disc Weights: 175
Review: this disc flies very nice. max weight provides good turnover D without losin control. i can get it to 400' and it follows the exact path it says on the innova website, unlike some of their other descriptions. best blend of control and distance imo.
Posted 08-21-07
Submitted by John Carder
Location: Nederland, CO
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 225
Disc Weights: 150 gr
Review: I'm new to this, and throw hard but inaccurately. I got a Champion Innova 3 disc set, and this was the driver. I've purchased other discs, as well. I'm big and strong, so I tend to 175gr discs, but this one has its place in my bag. It has a predictable curve (fade?) at the end of the throw, and while it doesn't carry quite as far as some of my heavy discs, it tends not to amplify my mistakes as much as some of them (Star TeeRex comes to mind). I've hit a lot of trees and sharp rocks, and the disc has held up well. When I'd be trying to throw my Champion Gator too hard, but still need to focus on accuracy, this is the disc I reach for.
Posted 12-15-06
Submitted by Luke info@iowadiscgolf.org
Disc Weights: ~170
Review: I found a CE Valkyrie, X-out, on a new course I helped build in the rough. Tried to return it on our local forum and no one answered, so I kept it.

I LOVE this CE plastic! This thing is tough like Champion should be, but pliable with a flex more similar to that of Pro plastic.

The CE Valkyrie "old school" is a fast, long, long disc. It turns hard since because of my throwing style, but if I work to release it hard wing-down, it flattens and just cruises forever. Probably my most versatile long-distance driver. If anyone has one they want to part with, let me know!
Posted 08-31-06
Submitted by JD Macejko JackGM@GMail.com
Disc Weights: 172?
Review: I've played frolf for about 3 summers in wisconsin and decided to play regularly at home. Normally in wisconsin i used random discs (i've played the entire course with a XD putter and par'd it, its a difficult course.) But I liked their valkarie and their whippit the best. So, When i got back, what did i buy? a valk and a whippit. I opted for the champ valk because i didnt want the weird graphic on it like the other valk i used. Well, to my suprise, it works better too. My first throw went about a soccer field and a half with an S that went a bit left (RHBH) I have yet to throw it RHFH but tomorrow i will try that. From that game, i consistantly got 200-250 feet out of the thing. Great disc, but it takes some finesse.
Posted 05-20-06
Submitted by Brad Smith
Disc Weights: 170
Review: Awesome disc! I throw sidearm, started with a Innova Cobra and got ~300 - 320ft, straight as an arrow. I got the Valkrie and it took me a couple of days to straighten it out. After that, I can hit 380 - 400 ft no problem, and it only dips right at the very very end, probably due to a loss in spin. I highly recommend this disc to anyone who already can throw well and is wanting to get more distance out of their throw.
Posted 05-19-06
Submitted by Chase Martin Nightshade15@msn.com
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I just bought this two days ago, and it's already my favorite disc. I've only been playing for a few months, and I recently converted to side arm and was looking for something that I could get a decent flight out of on the majority of my side arms. This disc is it. What's really fun about it is when you really rip it, it has such a beautiful S curve to it. Slow your sidearm down a bit with a touch of hyzer, and it'll wrap around a tree sharper than any of my other discs. Don't bother trying to tomahawk with it though... it has a mind of its own when you do. I agree with the above statement though; keep your sidearm low with this or it's in the trees for you.
Posted 11-14-05
Submitted by Brandon Ellis ostrya.geo@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 167
Review: This was the very fist disc that I bought. I snagged it because I was warned about loosing discs so the day-glo green was appealing. In hindsight, appearance was not the best method to pick a disc because I had real trouble controlling this disc for a long time. Now that I have gotten to better understand the dynamics of throwing the disc, it is my favored driver (my Champion Beast is a close 2nd) and the only driver I use for shots necessitating turnover. I find that the fade is very predictable and use it for my approach shots when terrain allows. The turnover is predictable when you want it and allows for turns around obstacles and into baskets. I must concur with the previous reviews. This is a very frustrating disc for a beginner. Iíd recommend a Cobra for a beginnerís first driver because that is where I first found success. Now I just turn a Cobra over on its side, which is good for a hard right turn.
Posted 10-28-05
Submitted by Alex Ku kenshinhimura12@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 150 and 168
Review: I recently picked up a 150 valkryie and it flies great. Tossed it down wind with just a flick of the wrist and it made 75-100 feet. My 168 is more resilient to wind, so i tend to throw it upwind, but it does get blown away a bit. Overall an extremely good disc, it was the first champion line disc i ever got(my 168). It makes a nice S curve for me and i can toss it about 280-310ish.
Posted: 11-03-04
Submitted by ferretdance03 brad@p3clothing.com
I have been throwing Valkyries for around a year now, and find them very predictable. I have a 150 class that can be placed right where I want it, and glides for days downhill and in a tailwind. I like to throw it with a slight hyzer and letting it pop and fade. I also throw a 167 as a main driver, released almost flat, flexing to the right and coming back for a nice smooth S curve. Both weights are great for turnover shots as well, and hold that line till the very end of the flight. Very pretty. J
Posted: 6-12-04
Submitted by Barrett Broussard Acidbath666@yahoo.com
Im an advanced Amateur, Right handed. I bought a 168 Champion Valkryie because i wanted a disc that had a little more turnover than some of the other drivers in my bag like my Orc. I use my CE Valk in all sorts of situations. Recently I've really learned to control it. I really like the sidearm action that this disc can create. From a backhand or sidearm throw it'll create a really smooth high speed turn depending on how much hyzer its launched with. I find that the end of its flight isnt harsh, Tends to glide more than it does turn. When i throw it with just a bit of hyzer, It will tend to straighten out, turn over justtt a hair, and then glide the opposite way to end its flight getting the max distance. But when i throw it level, it'll automatically start to turn over and not come back too hard. I would say that this disc is very similar to my 168 XL. The turn over also is about the same as my 169 JLS, but the JLS doesnt have as much glide as my Valkyrie at the end of its flight. The valkryie tends to get me a lot of distance and not fall to hard at the end of its flight. I'd say its not a great disc for beginners. But you realize how to control how far it turns over in the beginning of this flight, it'll become one of your more predictable discs in your bag if you can tee off in a constant manner.
Posted: 1-15-04
Submitted by Brian cdale600@hotmail.com
Brian; Intermediate Amateur sidearm driver. This disc likes to cut quite severely with your natural curve . For my sidearm drive this means a fairly hard right cut. It takes quite a bit of armspeed to get it to fly a straight path, but the distance is excellent when released flat and hard. I find it a great disc for hard curve shots. The CE plastic is fabulous and handles tree shock with aplomb. Definitely not the best disc for a beginner, who will probably find its big hyzer/anhyzer frustrating. But once again, if released level with plenty of speed this disc goes a long way. For a sidearm throw it is best to throw it fairly low, because if it gets too high it just curves too much.
Posted: 7-12-01
By Blake Takkunen - the Webmaster - <blake@discgolf.com>
My Review:
The CE Valkyrie is a very fast, slightly overstable driver. The CE plastic is also almost indestructable. Fairly scratch and chip resistent (I skidded my CE Teebird across an asphalt parking lot and it had a couple of surface scuffs) I'd say it should last about 3 times as long as the KC plastic. I have hit tree after tree with mine without any noticable marks. The CE model comes out of the mold flatter and is faster and noticably more overstable and with a bit less glide than the DX version. Thrown hard and flat it will give a very slight right turn and tail off hard left at the end. Thrown slight hyzer it should flatten out but has a much higher resistence to turnover than the DX. I'd say the turn is similar to that of a 175g KC Gazelle, very gradual but the low speed fade is closer to that of a KC Cheetah. It will drop off fairly quickly and to the left when it runs out of steam. Thrown correctly this is a very long disc and is probably one of Innova's longest drivers. I throw the Teebird and Eagle longer but I find the Valkyrie much easier to control and also that it doesn't require as much snap to throw it well. Speedwise this disc is quite fast. The only other Innova disc i would say is close speedwise is the Firebird. Lighter versions of this disc should carry well with a tailwind, but for headwinds and crosswinds I would go with a more overstable disc. Although the DX Valkyrie is fairly beginner friendly, I'd say the CE version is probably more suited to players at the intermediate level or beyond and for the lighter throwers wanting to carry CE plastic, I'd probably point them in the direction of the CE Leopard first. Also of note, there are currently two distinct versions of the CE Valkyrie. The first runs have a higher dome and get a bit better glide while the later runs (2 and 3) came out of the mold flatter and have less glide while being a bit more overstable. This will more than likely vary over time. I have one of each and I find the differences to be very slight but others probably have different opinions on this.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page