Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova
Champion Wraith

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 170-175g
Plastic: Innova Champion

Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
INNOVA's newest addition to the Distance Driver line. It is our longest and fastest Distance Driver to date. It is a stable flyer that performs predictably well in the wind with speed, glide and accuracy. This disc performs remarkably well when thrown at less than full speed as well as at full speed. The Champion Wraith is an excellent side arm disc.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.



Player Reviews

 

Posted 04-29-08

Submitted by David J

Level: Amateur

Avg Drive: 300

Disc Weights: 164

Review: This disc really will extend your distance.  I generallythrow 280-300 but the Wraith can fly up to 350 for me.  It has a nicehigh speed turn that goes forever before ending in a predictable but

not overly hard fade.  Get one!


Posted 01-08-08
Submitted by Philycheezblunt
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 175g
Review: Right about the time this disc came out, I'd developed a certain hatred towards Star Plastic. I find that the quality control from Innova on their star discs made predictability of what you'd from them a crap shoot. I also don't like how star discs age. They seem like they are raw and need to be broken in when they are new, and they seem like they are worn out when they are broken in. I'd tried several star wraiths, and found that they were always super fast but never quite flied right.

The champion wraith I was like a perfectly broken in baseball glove. It does need some space to fly, especially if you are trying to park a 350 ft drive straight ahead. I usually get it to go a little on the hard side right, but then it finishes very nicely to the left. The only thing this disc isn't great with is tight woods shots where you don't have very much left to right room for it to move when you need to finish dead center or a little right. For that, I pull out a rogue or wildcat, as they don't have as much of a low speed fade.

The best compliment I can give any disc is that if I chucked it off a cliff or just lost it, I'd buy another one. This one gets my approval
Posted 09-09-07
Submitted by Carlos Callo Los026@aol.com
Level: Amateur
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I randomly found a Champion Wraith in a tree while playing one day and had no idea what I had found. I took it and several other discs that I had to trade in for a few new discs but stopped myself from trading it once I looked at the handy Innova chart the store had. I kept it and went out with my new discs to try them out. I had no idea I had accidentally stumbled upon the best disc I have ever thrown! The Innova chart had not exagerated even a little bit! I have never thrown a disc that flew straighter and longer than this one! I had to adjust my aim because I wasn't used to a disc going so freakishly straight! I used to be lucky to break even on 18 holes, but with this disc I normally come out ahead and chalk up numerous birdies! I don't think I could compliment this disc enough, so just go out and buy one already!
Posted 08-14-07
Submitted by Chris Barns
Disc Weights: 175
Review: The Innova Wraith while it is very popular, it did not work for me. I found an old used CFR Wraith and I liked it at first. I had huge backhand s-curves and added distance of 50 ft to my game. However, when the wind came it flipped the wraith right over, so I bought a new one and used the other one for tailwinds. I dont know if its just me, but I found a new wraith very unpredictable. I soon tried out a champion orc and now that is my main distance driver. The orc flies exactly where I want to everytime and I still have that extra 30-40 extra distance added to my old drives. Granted the wraith has an extra 10-15 feet added, but not as controllable. My brother however loves the wraith I gave him and he uses it for all of his drives (forehand).
Posted 06-22-07
Submitted by Cody Seigmund wizake@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 169-172
Review: Man oh Man, the CFR Wraith is the distance driver for me. I started throwing Wariths shortly after their release in 2006, my first one was in pro plastic at 175. This was a killer disc that easily added 30 -50 feet to my drive the first few times I threw it. Once the pro got beat to death I bought a star Wraith thinking durability- I hated it. It just seemed to go everywhere except were I wanted, so I took oit out of the bag and didnt put it back in until last summer when I traded 4 discs for two CFR Wraiths, 169, and 172. The thing that makes this disc so reliable is that it will ALLWAYS flex, no matter how much you try to keep it anyhyzer, it will allways flip bak left at the end of its flight. I was consitantly throwing 300 - 350ft, now that I have mastered these beauties I am throwing close to 400 consistantly, and if I get ahold of it just right Im pushing 425-450ft. I now carry three Wraiths in the bag, two CFR's 169 and 172. The 169 I throw woth a tail wind, and the 172 for headwinds. I used to hate the Star Wraith, but I must say this is the better choice for long anhyzers, it will hold a right turn and not flip. Thanks for the Wraith Innova, it has made me a better player!
Posted 06-03-07
Submitted by Anonymous
Location: Southwest FL
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 170g
Review: I picked up a CFR Wraith recently after being a purely CE Valkyrie / QJLS guy. I'd have to say the first and foremost impression you'll get from the disc is fast, fast, and lots of glide. Third throw with it I drove 7 feet past a flat 413 foot hole, and this is golf distance, not big anhyzer distance. 7-10 feet off the ground the entire flight path and no more than 20-30 feet side to side flight. I say that to illustrate the epitome what I think is this disc's strength and what you'll like the most about it, should you buy it. You can crush the disc on a line with a low ceiling and narrow fairway and get excellent distance. The same throws with my CE Valkyries would have tailed off 30-50 feet earlier on the same line. If you're a big arm who wants a disc that will hold a *golf* line to 380-450 (Depending on weight) without too much worry about flipping it or a hard cut at the end, this is your disc.
Posted 05-20-07
Submitted by Anonymous
Location: Drakesville, IA.
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I was throwing the beast, and decided to advance to a more faster stable to overstable driver. I decided the wraith was the number 1 choice for me. I was only throwing about 230 to 240 Ft. , with the wraith I now average more around 300 ft. The wraith is my go to disc now, it flys for me with a slight ani and staightens out at the end of its flight, mine is perty broken in as I am still throwing the one that I first got when they first came into production. I think the wraith is the disc for anyone that wants more for there money. I thank Bruce Needam for getting me started in disc golf and for introducing the wraith to me.
Posted 05-14-07
Submitted by Mike
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 172
Review: This disc is amazing. I used to throw a champion orc before the wraith and averaged around 250', but the wraith has added so much to my game. I find it best to release the disc with a slight hyzer to obtain a beautiful s curve. I personally like the champion plastic because of how smooth it is when it releases from my hand.
Posted 01-30-07
Submitted by Phillip phillip.daw@navy.mil
Location: Charleston, SC
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 172
Review: The Champion Wraith is much harder to turn over than the DX version, so I was never able to get as much distance. Due to the high fade and smooth plastic, it skipped way too much to be predictable for me. I thought it would be great for big hyzer shots, but my local course doesn't really have any of those, so I never got to try it. My DX Wraith is now a roller, and I have a Pro Wraith on order, which will hopefully fill the gap.
Posted 10-21-06
Submitted by Adam Wright adamwright@findnewsfast.com
Location: Estherville, IA
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 168
Review: After not having played for 12 years and my Scorpions getting beat up, I needed to purchase my first new golf disc since 1993. I ended up buying the Wraith and my distance has never been better.

While the Wraith is a lot more overstable than I'm used to, it has allowed my to reach holes that were not reachable before. It has helped my set a course record on my home course of 22 for nine. The key being the Wraith has helped me reach the two longest holes on the course that were not reachable in the past.

While I would not recommend the Wraith for beginners, anyone that has been throwing regular for a while will be pleased with adding a Wraith to their bag.
Posted 08-13-06
Submitted by Josh Location: West Jefferson, OH
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 168-172
Review: This is my first year of playing disc golf. I played once using a friend of mine's champion teebird, learning fairly quickly how to throw a disc sidearm the furthest. Before my second trip to the course, I stopped by a local shop to get a few discs of my own, my main driver of course being a Pro Wraith. I was easily able to keep up with friends of mine on the course with this disc. I since lost that disc and then purchased a Star line wraith. I really liked how durable it was, but it seemed to lose a little of it's flimsyness with the harder plastic. I now use a CFR Wraith that combines the best of both plastic feels, and allows me to throw the most precise drives using it. Especially downwind or downhill.
Posted 07-01-06
Submitted by Ken Jackson TxChainSaw@gmail.com
Location: Ft. Worth, Texas
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 169
Review: I've been "playing" DG casually for 6+ years.. up untill recently. The decision has been made to step up, and put out. My CFR Wraith sat in my bag nearly a year before I decided to get serious. A couple weeks of practice, and I graduated to the level required to wrangle the abomination we call Wraith. In a single bound this machine upped my distance 50 ft. I feel however, that I owe alot of it to the weight. I see alot of CFR W's, not many below 171g. Mine is 169g, and my new main gun. These discs are of the highest in demand in this area, reguardless of weight, and in many cases the weapon used to subdue my game. If you own the disc, tame that disc, and own the course.
Posted 05-15-06
Submitted by John Y Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 174-175
Review: This is the longest disc I have ever thrown--but at the expense of some predictability. I bought this disc to replace my previous long-range disc, a 172g Champion Orc that I lost to a water hazard. I've used it for about 30 rounds of 18 holes so far. (I have a new one and a beat-up one for anhyzers.) Compared to the Champion Orc that I lost, I'd say that the Wraith (moderately broken-in) is a little easier to turn over if thrown at full power, especially considering my Wraiths are 2-3 grams heavier than my lost Orc. The tremendous glide is beautiful to watch in calm conditions, but I think that it's that same glide that makes the disc impossible to predict in strong wind. All-in-all it's a great disc for maximum distance (in an open field I can reach ~370'), but not a good disc for precise placement.
Posted 03-15-06
Submitted by David Disc Weights: 172
Review: After reading about this disc I new I had to have it. For me, I treat it as a longer, faster Firebird. Until about 3 months ago, I only threw forehand and then decided that I needed to learn to throw backhand if I wanted to compete. I can only pull a backhand about 300 but with the Wraith I am easily topping 350. And as my technique gets better, the drives get longer. This disc is amazing in any conditions. When thrown with hyzer it will flatten out quickly and sail on forever. Release it flat and you can see a smooth S-curve. It won't outrun a Beast or Orc by much but often that extra 30-50 feet is the difference a stroke or two.
Posted 02-20-06
Submitted by Sam Russ sam27261@aol.com
PDGA: 27261
Location: Anthem, Arizona
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 174
Review: This is a very fast disc, slighty more stable then the pro plastic but very predictable. I use this whenever I need to get that extra distance off the tee. It generally flies 20 - 50 feet farther then my Orcs. It is good for the beginner or the best pros, but it will take some time and skill to get this disc to turn over for a flex shot.
Posted 01-03-06
Submitted by Fabricio from water tower evelinchiabai@yahoo.com
PDGA: 25151
Location: florida
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 500
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I used to throw 1st run white orcs max weights to practice distance, about a month ago I started to throw cfr wraiths from 172 to 175g and I notice that they do not flye as straight as the orcs but they are more stable at high speed and they will have the doble turn and go further for sure ! I can get about 50 to 60 feet more in distance with the wraith, the only thing is that it will not hold it's line as straight as the orc, so within 400 feet I would throw and orc insted a wraith that can easily go over 500 feet. I loved the wraiths and they have a big time skip
Posted 11-21-05
Submitted by Anonymous Disc Weights: 168
Review: I used to throw heavy firebirds and lighter Teebird's, I bought two CFR Wraiths from marshall street. I'm an advanced RHBH thrower with lots of power, I've driven Valks, Eagles, Orc's, Beast's all over five hundred feet but I recenttly threw my CFR Wraith ( Downhill ) close to 900 ft, You can get the INNOVA rep out here if you dont believe it we used a rangfinder to target the basket at around 875 ft and I was at least twenty or thirty feet behind it. One word of advice, most pro's through new DX plastic every game because a new disk obvously has a lover drag co efficant and is natraully more understable than a worn in pro or champ. My freind has already beat the POP out of two pro wriaths, it goes so fast and is so sticky that it almost destroys itself hitting trees. Also these worn in Pro Wraiths seen to be conversely to what me and the rest of the folf world thinks become less stable, so If you don't want a super fast long firebird, buy a pro wraith and throw it the trees for about a month and you'll have just what you want, otherwise pony up the dough for the CFR Wraith.
Posted 10-31-05
Submitted by Robb ryandian@gracetulsa.com
Location: Tulsa, OK
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 170
Review: Innova has really hit the jackpot with this disc. Once Discraft introduced the Flick and Venom, I felt Innova had nothing to compare speedwise. So when I saw they had a disc with the speed of 11, I was immediately intrigued. When it arrived, I was amazed how similar it looked to the Beast. I held it side-by-side next to the Beast and couldn't find any significant distance. I couldn't tell how it would get extra speed. (I obsessively study the profiles of discs.) To my surprise, it really did fly faster than the Orc, Beast, or any other 10 disc. Later I realized the the rim is about 1/8" wider than the Orc or Beast. I guess that's where it gets the extra speed. As for glide, I'm surprised that I agree with the rating of 5 that Innova gave it. Add incredible speed to incredible glide and you get incredible distance. The only thing I'd maybe disagree with is the 3 on fade. Mine (maybe it's because it's 170g) only fades a little for about the last 10-15% of it's flight. I've increased my average drive by about 10-15' with this disc. I don't have the biggest arm either (max about 350). Although I wouldn't recommend this disc for a beginner, even an amateur without the biggest arm can gain great distance with the Wraith.
Posted 10-22-05
Submitted by Tommy Donelson nvdiscgolfer@yahoo.com
PDGA: 18414
Location: Burke, VA
Level: Pro
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I usually throw max weight, but got a 170 wraith to try it out. When I started throwing this disc, I couldn't believe how much extra distance that I got from the start. I have since bought 2 CFR Wraiths and another pro line wraith. I was out in a field today throwing some distance and pace one of my throws at 189 paces. I know that this is not the most accurate messurement, but I had a few in the 170-180 pace range. The key to the Proline Wraith is to throw it so that it turns over slightly. Make sure that you give it enough height so that you take full advantage of it's incredible speed and extra long glide. The CFR Wriaths are harder to turn over, so I try to keep them a little lower. I would say that this disc is throwerific and distancetastic.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page