Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Dragon

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 150g
Plastic: Innova DX

Dragon
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Dragon provides more glide than any of our other discs. It is a disc for less powerful throwers who want to get more distance for less effort. At 150 grams the dragon will float in water.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 03-03-08
Submitted by Thiefofalwayz Thiefofalwayz@yahoo.com
PDGA:
Location: Orlando, FL
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Throws:
Throwing Style(s):
Disc Weights: 150
Review: This disc is way too light to use on any kind of windy day. It does float and that's its main perk. I think it throws like a Cobra, with the feel of a Beast.... The lip (Inside edge) of the Dragon is a little thinner and sharper than the Beast. For some reason or another.... I throw my Beast 150' to 200' further.
Posted 12-18-07
Submitted by Nick flairtime5000@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 150
Review: This disc is surprisingly amazing. for such a light disc i can bomb it 350+ feet on a good drive. id say its faster as it is listed yet it has amazing glide, definetly a 6 on the glide. it is the most straight flying disc in my bag. all i can say is i love it and everyone should have one in the bag.
Posted 07-07-06
Submitted by Josh Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 150
Review: I bought this disc so I would stop losing my discs in the water at my local course. It is a bit too light for my liking and much too understable. First-timer friends like this disc but I will only use it for the over water shots. It is nice and cheap and will keep your better discs from drowning but that is the limit of its uses for me. Oh and the plastic is not the normal dx, it is a bit more soft than the normal plastic and therefore dings up easier. Rocks and trees will quickly make this disc unusable.
Posted: 8-24-04
Submitted by Dave
I got the Beast (175g) because I saw a guy rip one over 400 feet, with what looked like very little effort. The same day I spotted the Dragon (150g) on the shelf, advertised as a "floating version of the Beast", so I picked it up. I'm a right handed, back handed thrower. I have found the Beast to be overstable at low speed or if thrown with the nose angled upward, curving fairly sharply left after a relatively short distance, say 150-200 feet. At high speed and level release, it flies straight for 275-300 feet, tailing off to the left at the end, for a total of 300-325 feet. Occasionally, if I get more speed or spin, or something, I haven't figured out what, it will not curve left at all and will fly over 350 feet. I have found it almost impossible to make the Beast curve to the right, unless for a very short distance. As for the Dragon, which looks identical to the Beast except for weight, it is like a completely different disk. I find the Dragon will readily curve right at high speeds, looping through a dramatic S curve if thrown a bit nose-up, and often turning over and hitting the ground if thrown level. It flies more like the Beast if you compensate by letting it go a bit tilted down on the left. Nevertheless, both have become my favorite disks as I learn to master them. They both fly straight and glide very long if you can control them. As for controlling them, I would say these two are not for beginners.
Posted: 05-18-04
Submitted by Doug B.
I bought my Dragon primarily as a water disc, and secondarily because its high "glide" characteristic was supposed to give extra distance for "small arm" players. As a 5'6", 125 pound man, I fit that description and have been definitely looking for any distance help I could get. (My very best is still probably not 300' while my "average" best is only around 260') I tend to throw my other discs in the mid 160s weight, so I figured the 150 weight here would be helpful as well.

As I'm still quite new to DG (5 months), it's likely that incorrect form accounts for many of my experiences, but here are the ones I've had with the Dragon.

First, it does indeed float well. That has saved me at least a couple of discs. Its light weight, however, still prevents me from throwing it in any kind of a head wind.

Next, at least mine is made out of a different kind of plastic than any other disc I've seen. It's much softer and grippier than any other driver. One of the consequences of this seems to be that my normal grip strength holds it much longer than my other discs. RHBH I tend to release it *way* right if I'm not careful. I also flip it over badly sometimes when I throw it hard and there's any kind of crosswind. My stronger friends basically can't throw it sidearm at all because the higher arm speed flips it so easily.

Also, it compresses and warps badly when smacked against a tree, but it's quite easy to bend it back into its original shape. On the other hand, mine hasn't gotten the scratches, nicks, and gouges that DX drivers do when subjected to the same abuse.

Finally, regarding the distance, I do believe that my furthest throws are probably with this disc. When I can take advantage of the longer grip by aiming left of my real target, take advantage of the glide by getting good spin, and get a good S curve, I probably throw it 20'-40' further than my other drivers (165g CE Valk and 167 CE Orc). But the inconsistency I have with it causes me to pretty much only throw it over water or with a decent tailwind.
Posted: 3-19-04
Submitted by: sutter_cane_lives@yahoo.com
The Innova Dragon is a very light disc I usually like to throw heavier discs as I tend to turn lighter discs over too quickly. I throw about a max of 350 feet and I can throw this about 280. This is agreat water disc as it floats and also a great disc for bad spots when you need a little more than a midrange disc and your going to have a hard time getting out of the situtation.
Posted: 6-23-03
Submitted by <Tseone@aol.com>
As a beginner I was tired of those foul shots into the water. After a couple of games the novelty of fishing for my disc had worn off. I originally bought the dragon strictly for those water shots. And I continue to use it for that same purpose. I throw using the right handed backhand throw and I get good distance using the dragon but I found that the edges of the disc dosen't like trees or others obstacles leaving deep gouges after collisions any chance of using this disc for other than water would be a waste of a good floater. The dragon always fades left for me as all the discs I throw seem to do. Be careful using it on windy days unless it's a tail wind.
Posted: 5-14-02
Submitted by Derek Kainz <derekkainz@hotmail.com>
Nice disc. I use it for water shots (for obvious reasons) and for medium range anhyzers. Good disc for a new player too. It is light, glides well, and is easy to control.
Posted: 10-05-01
Submitted by David Swartwood <calvarycoffee@juno.com>
I heard it said that every disc golfer needed a pink Dolphin. Because every once in a while you will have to shoot a very gay shot. And what better to use on a gay shot than a gay disc. Hmm. . .anyway.
I hear Innova has replaced it's Dolphin with the new Dragon(good choice). I also hear it will only be available in CE plastic and will only be offered in 150g class.
The Dragon can take a hammering with Innova's new CE plastic. I've played 'Guts' with my Dragon before. It has taken a lot of hits to the walls of the gym(and people) and has lost its glossy look, but there is not a single warp to it- amazing. By the way, I do not recommended playing Guts with a CE Dragon unless you can take LOTS of pain.
The CE Dragon has been the easiest of my 20+ discs to throw. It is small in diameter and has a very round dome. Because of it's light weight and it being understable, its flight is a lot like a Stingray. It might just be me, but it has more of a right turn than my Stingray. On a wind-less day, it will fade like a Cobra. Mostly, it has a tendency to fade left 20+ ft at the end of it's flight. Or that may be just me. The fact that it floats is a major plus for us "Trans Pacific disc golfers." .
The Dragon will give you the most distance for your motion. I use it mostly for stand-still shots- like from on a hill, or in a tight river bed, or a tight grove of trees(been there-done that). Don't be fooled, it may be easy to throw, but the light weight and sharp edge make it more difficult to master. So far, I have never had decent accuracy when using it for power shots. I don't use the Dragon for long range anymore. Mainly just for stand-stills or water shots.
A Dragon may be a nice conversation starter, but I wouldn't recommend it as a power driver. But it will come in handy when you get stuck between a rock and a hard place.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page