Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova
Pro Wraith

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 170-175g
Plastic: Innova Pro

Champion Wraith
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
INNOVA's newest addition to the Distance Driver line. It is our longest and fastest Distance Driver to date. It is a stable flyer that performs predictably well in the wind with speed, glide and accuracy. This is our most durable Distance Driver in Pro plastic. This disc performs remarkably well when thrown at less than full speed as well as at full speed. The Pro Wraith is an excellent side arm disc.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 03-02-08
Submitted by matt jiggamatt@sbcglobal.net
Disc Weights: 175
Review: very fast, very far with better glide than the other wraiths. kinda overstable unless u get it goin with a powerful snap, then it holds a nice straight line. good forehand disc too.
Posted 11-27-06
Submitted by Jason Williamson ghstinshll@excite.com
Location: Des Moines, IA
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 170
Review: Had a Star Wraith 175, WAY overtable & heavy...

Bought a 170 pro because a friend told me the pro was less stable, and DUDE! I drive 300+ consistently w/ my starfire, SL, or beasts. I hadn't been the best @ throwing w/ a power grip until I started throwing this Pro Wraith! Let that rip @ about 350+ w/ my first few drives. Liek most long drivers, this disc requires some room, but I love it! Have a lot of strength, light snap, but w/ the power grip & a long flat anny angle, and it has great speed & glide, just like Innova advertised!
Posted 10-03-06
Submitted by ed glatt edglatt@yahoo.com
Location: Plainfield, IL
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 175
Review: I picked up one of these thinking it would increase my distance. Well, it didn't. I would have to say this disc is very hard to control, and it is very overstable. Almost impossible to anny. I'll take my orc over this any day.
Posted 04-21-06
Submitted by James tfeop@yahoo.com
Location: Charlotte NC
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I bought this disc last fall and have been throwing it semi consistently ever since. When I first bought it it flew exactly like it should. After about a month it has become ever so much more broken in such that it has become my complete go to turnover disc. Pro plastic just beats in and becomes so understable and with this disc and it's profile it just turns over and it turns a long time. Compared to when I throw my brand new Roadrunner they both follow the same line but the Wraith always goes about 40-50 feet farther. For those that know the course - I threw this on the #18 original pad at Reedy Creek here in Charlotte (a ~330 dogleg right turn) and it actually landed past the basket - first time for me.

While it does flip over really well for me with proper spin there is always a certain level that it will fade back left. I find that with any other torunover disc this disc does require a certain amount of height to work it's magic otherwise it's just like any other semi overstable driver. Sometimes I even find myself using this disc as an approach disc when I know I'm going to need a good skip. It's understabilty will generally keep it going straight fairly long enough and then it will fade left and give a nice flair at the end that if throw properly will leave me right next to the basket.

I must say that just being able to watch it glide right down a fairway that goes to the right and to then watch it swoop through the trees and then park it next to the basket is a wonderful thing and that is possible with a well beat in Pro Wraith.
Posted 04-21-06
Submitted by Jeff jeffcyr@cyrcomusic.com
Location: Omaha, NE
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I have been searching for a max distance disc for the past 2 1/2 years and I have found it with the pro wraith. Last year I was throwing an orc wich got beat out by an SL for max distance. I then purchased a star, champion and pro wraith. I tried to figure them all out and I have. The pro wraith tops them all by a lot. Last year my top drive was about 380 and my average was about 350. Now my average is about 380 and max about 410+. The biggest change being the pro wraith. I would say that the champion wraith is 20 feet longer than the SL and 30 feet longer than the orc but the pro wraith is 30 feet longer than the champion wraith. Bottom line is the pro wraith is the fastest longest flying disc on the market.
Posted 04-08-06
Submitted by Dan Beacham topflyer2k2@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 175 gm
Review: Best Disc on the market narrowly beating out the new Stratus. My progression in 3 yrs has been 200ft drives to now I hit 425ft with the Pro Wraith. It is so fast you get distance with little or no effort. I started out with Eagles, then turned to Beasts, and now a few Wraiths will be taking up my Driver slots. The Wraith just goes where you aim, and it holds every line.
Posted 12-06-05
Submitted by Patrick Amazing1boy@aol.com
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 500
Disc Weights: 174
Review: Firstly the review hopign for a further faster valk, there is one, its called a Beast. But for the pro wraith, I havent had the best of luck with it. I agree with a previous reviewer saying it flies like a quarter k, i agree, a ton (about 60' offline) of right turn, and a bit of fade. of it comes back at all. Pro plastic tends to be alittle flippy on me so i understand why the wraith does this to me. When i do get a good throw (starting with a bit of hyzer) the disc will flip to flat, fly pretty fast, but still not significantly out distance my champ orc (average about 15 ft further) that 15' is not worth the inconsistantly ive been experienceing. I am messing around with a 172 champion wraith, and am liking it alot more.
Posted 10-30-05
Submitted by Anonymous
Disc Weights: 171/174
Review: I got a chance to try a 171 & 174 G Wraith this weekend. My main driver for the past couple months has been a Starfire. I am a small arm thrower that does ok for being under 145 lbs, I drive in the 300' range. My friend that let me borrow his wraith was doing beautiful 400+ drives landing right in the center of the fairway, so I had to try it. Like everyone says, its a faster longer starfire. I hope they come out with not only a lighter model, but a straighter or less stable cousin that flies more like a faster valk. but in the meantime, I think I will get the lightest one I can find and work with it. By the way, it was pretty windy, and I didnt notice much difference in weight- but then I wasnt throwing 500 feet either. I am guessing I might add 20 feet past my starfire, until I learn to throw better,lol.
Posted 10-28-05
Submitted by Alex Ku kenshinhimura12@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: Alex Ku
Review: This disc is amazing. It takes lots of snap to get it out there, but once you do it flies amazingly. I've driven it 330 feet a few times, which for me, would be a record. Put a good S on it and it'll fly away.
Posted 10-11-05
Submitted by Matt jarvis_mckinley@hotmail.com
Location: Tulsa
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 175
Review: When I first read about this disc, I had to have one. I have a lot of power and good form as far as I know, but can't seem To break the 425' mark, and I sometimes have trouble with 400'. (please email me with some tips of what i could be doing wrong) I got a 170 first, and before I hit one tree, it was breaking way over to the right (RHBH). I would even make it go right when I put a bunch of hyzer on it. I traded a guy at the course for his 175, and I still break it over right, but now I can put a hyzer angle on it and get good, yet inconsistent, results. I do use this disc for long, steady, right curves still. I would recommend that people at least give this disc a good try because it really is fast. I guess I'll just wait for the Champion plastic to come out since it tends to be more overstable.
Posted 10-11-05
Submitted by Jersak peter_jersak@hotmail.com
Level: Pro
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 174
Review: This disc requires only a flat release to fly farther than anything I have thrown. Haven't thrown it in strong winds yet, but if it thrown with the nose flat, you can count on some serious distance. Don't try to crush this disc, instead just use a 90% pull with control and you will be pleasantly surprised. Sidebar: I throw Orcs normally...they are now my "midrange" drivers.
Posted 10-01-05
Submitted by Jim Liebsch jklyank@iw.net
Disc Weights: 175
Review: Keeping it simple and to the point, this disc is simply long and straight in any wind with a slight fade at the end of its flight!
Posted 09-28-05
Submitted by One Eye Willie cs_lastboyscout@comcast.net
Location: Hendersonville, TN
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I have both a 174g Wraith and a 172g Wraith. They both do diffrent things. The heavier weight flies like an if an Orc and a Starfire had a kid that was faster, stronger, and longer. I break the 400 feet mark easy. If you really get some snap on it with an anhyzer line it will do a nice gliding anhyzer with little or no chance of coming out of it. Sidearm this thing is a missle. I have a buddy who was a beginner and bought one because of all the hype and now throws sidearm over 350 feet when he was use to throwing only around 200 feet with an orc. One great thing is if you can get a heavier Wraith to hold an anhyzer line, get a lighter one and get ready for a real long distance roller baby! I can roll my 172g Wraith about 425 feet on average and have even had one go around 455 feet. NOTE: YOU HAVE TO HAVE A BIG ARM FOR THIS DISC UNLESS YOU WANT A DISC THAT FLIES LIKE A FIREBIRD. THIS THING WILL HYZER LIKE MAD IF YOU DONT HAVE ANY POWER OR SNAP. Or just get a n00bie to buy one, and when they say they hate it, buy it from them for cheap.
Posted 09-24-05
Submitted by geoff keller geoff-keller@excite.com
Disc Weights: 171
Review: I am awaiting a lighter weight version, as I tend to throw around the 150 to 160, so this was a little heavier than I am used to. I can see the potential though. It seems to hold it's flight path pretty well, I haven't yet thrown it farther than my eagle 150.
Posted 09-23-05
Submitted by Michael Haines mchaines@ku.edu
Disc Weights: 173
Review: The Wraith is the longest disc in my bag. This one flies past holes that I used to not be able to reach. On what feel like identical throws, I get 30-40' more distance from the Wraith than I do my Orcs or Beast. On the downside of things, my Wraith is not nearly as stable as I expected. It does not hold up very well in a head or crosswind, and I've had a little trouble with it turning right and never coming back (w/ RHBH throws) when I try to give it extra juice. It won't be replacing any of my overstable plastic anytime soon.

The bottom line: If you want to maximize distance in good conditions (calm wind or tailwind), you've got to get one of these discs.

p.s. I have not yet seen any beginners throw this disc, so I'm not sure how it would work out. But combination of slight understability and long glide that I've seen in this disc might make it a really good distance driver for beginner-intermediate throwers.


Posted 09-21-05
Submitted by Riley Brenner innovachampiondiscs@yahoo.com
Location: SD
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 170-175
Review: Ok, i've been throwing consistantly obsessivly for about four years now. i throw only innova and love my overstable plastic. i was at a tournamnet when a pro named darrell nodland, (who is unbelivable) was ripping out these drives. i asked him what he was throwing, and they were wraths. i asked to throw one, and i have never thrown a disc that far in my entire life. it was about 480, and i threw all of my other favorite drivers, all of them falling very short of my first throw with a wrath. you need lots of snap, a big arm, and the ability to throw a pretty hyzer. i recommend this disc to EVERYONE.
Posted 09-20-05
Submitted by Pagan pagan.harold@gmail.com
Disc Weights: 170
Review: This disc is a longer stable version of the Starfire. Today was my first day using it. Played 45 holes. Average drive was straight, low, and fast. This disc easily added about 30-40 feet. I did tend to throw it slightly lower than usual but probably due to arm fatigue (Hello 45 holes straight). All in all I'd say a great sidearm disc, smooth, fast and stable flight path. Advice to sidearm tossers; keep fingers close together throughout delivery or it tends to dip.
Posted 09-17-05
Submitted by One Eyed Woj bcwojcma@bluffton.edu
Location: Bluffton, Ohio
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 172
Review: The Wraith came out and I immediately picked up one of the first shipped to the local dealers (M2 Discs in NW Ohio). After a crummy first round in a tournament that day, I decided to experiment a little bit in the second round with it. Being a shorter armed thrower I decided to test out its claim as the new great flier from Innova and throw it on a 375 foot hole. I promptly shanked it anhyzer... 375 feet. Threw it too far out to the left and had it fall anny about 50 feet to the right of the hole. Since then I've noticed that it comes out of my hand as advertised, faster than any disc I've ever thrown. It also flies further and just using it adds nearly 75 feet onto my drives. I'm not certain if it is confidence in the disc, or the disc itself, but this bag is a must have to throw on any hole is outside of your "normal" range. I can't wait to see it in Champ plastic.
Posted 09-16-05
Submitted by Brad Matejek brad@matejek.com
Location: CA
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 175g
Review: The PRO WRAITH ( 175g ) is quite simply the most elite distance driver (not for beginners). Its flight path is very similar to a Quarter K, in which it flies very stable and straight for 80% of the flight & then turns overstable (little less than a Firebird). Its profile is a lot more comfortable and easier to grip than the Quarter k, as well as a much more durable plastic.

My main driver in comparison is a Champion Orc 175g, and I average on Distance Drives about 375-380ft (max about 410ft)... With the Wraith I average about 400ft and have maxed at about 440ft. I havenít thrown it Forehand or Thumber many times, but it seems to perform as well as my Firebird.

Overall, I find the Innova disc stat numbers of [ 11 5 0 3] to be a fair judge and comparison to the other Innova Discs. I can see the increase of speed and float over my [ 10 4 -1 3] Orc, and the stability of a Firebird [ 9 3 0 4] with less extreme slow speed fade.

If you got enough power and snap to throw at least 330ft then this Disc is for you!


Posted 09-06-05
Submitted by Cody Lee cslastboyscout@gmail.com
Disc Weights: 173
Review: This disc is the newer faster Starfire. It is straighter and longer, will run a hyzer better than an orc, and is a mother to try and anhyzer because it will just turn back leaving you with a big wide S-curve. This disc has only one downside; you have to have a big arm with lots of snap. My average drive with a Champion Starfire and Champion Starfire-L averages about 375 feet with ease and around 400 feet when I really turned on the power. With the Pro Wraith my average was around 400+ feet with a few crushing shots that went over 420 feet easily. If you have that snap on a disc and think you can get the power behind this one, you are in for a surprise!
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page