Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Champion
Shark

Type: Midrange
Diameter: 21.7cm
Available Weights: 145-150, 165-180g
Plastic: Innova DX

Shark
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The Shark is the best all around golf disc! It is a very accurate driver and approach disc. You can even putt with it.
Maximum Flight Speed 4.5
Resistance To High Speed Turn 4.5
Amount Of Low Speed Fade 3.5
Propensity To Fade 2.5
Glide 7.5
Relative Distance 4.5
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level 1.0
Predictability 2.0
Uniformity Of Break In Period 4.0
Overall Durability 2.5 Description of the Ratings System.



Player Reviews

Posted 05-07-08
Submitted by Brian Hoffmann

Location: Bowling Green, KY
Level: Beginner
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 177
Review: Got this disc in a beginners pack when I picked up the sport
in Feb. of this year. Really took a liking to it right away. Perfect
disc for slight hyzer approaches when thrown flat and excellent for
tight, short dogleg left holes when given a moderate ammount of hyzer
angle. Beats in real nice to become a gradual turnover disc. You know
what you're getting with the Shark: a predictable disc with a flight
path that is easy to replicate throw after throw.


Posted 09-16-07
Submitted by Chris Location: Ypsilanti, MI
Disc Weights: 179
Review: I have been wanting to add a either a Shark or a Roc to my bag for some time. I have a Classic Roc as my mid/putter and a Wolf for a strictly midrange disc. Both the Classic Roc and the Wolf I turn over on just about anything outside of 150 feet.

The Shark, especially this weight, allows me to throw full shots, expecting it to fade left , with confidence. I'm happy with it so far. I know exactly what to expect when I throw it.
Posted 03-19-06
Submitted by peter petesk806@yahoo.com
Location: Da Fort, IN
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 150-168g
Review: The shark is an incredible disc no matter what the weight. I can throw this probably about 250 ft and it flies amazing. once you figure out its flight pattern itll be very helpful when trying to throw short hyzer shots. whenever im within 150 feet of the hole and in a tricky situation i look o further than my Shark. BUY IT!!
Posted 10-30-05
Submitted by J
Disc Weights: 150
Review: My friend found a 150 class shark, and I have to comment on this thing. This is what I call the mini valkerie. It will fly an s curve at 30 feet. This is about the most accurate approach disc I ever threw, and my main approach is a roc, which I swear by.I can throw my roc right under the basket from 200 feet with not a hint of fade, but I swear this 150 class shark is even more accurate yet for short approaches. Its not a straight flyer, it is stable, and predictable. I want to demo a champion to see if it flies the same, but I am going to get some kind of a shark for my bag.
Posted: 9-23-03
Submitted by Scott Smith pianocomposer@insightbb.com
As a beginner I got the typical 3-set (putter, medium, and driver) by Innova. Of the three, my favorite by far is the Shark. I couldn't tell you the weight, but it's fairly light. I like it best because it's stable, is hard to turn over, and works well even in the wind. I've got three of them right now, and they all go straight at the target if I throw it right. When my driver is failing me or the wind is too crazy, I use my Shark and make the shot almost every time. I can control the trajectory pretty with reverse spins, overhand, sidearm, and even left-handed when I have to. The Sharks I have are all amatuer soft plastic, so they don't last very long, but I plan to upgrade when the time is right. For a beginner or anyone who loves the game but hasn't shot an under-par game from the advanced tees yet, I highly recommend the Innova Shark as an all-around excellent choice.
Posted: 8-28-03
Submitted by Will williethekid@sbglobal.net
As a new player to Disc golf I chose the shark Dx(167g) as my approach/finesse driver and absolutley love it! It goes where I want it to, it floats in right next to the pin, and is driveable for me around the 225' mark. I use it for tight fairways and getting outta the woods on bad drives. As for accuracy, my 51-year old father on his second round of disc golfing ever, threw a 100' birdie shot with this disc and put it no farther than 30' from the pin on most of the holes. If your a beginner buy this disc and if you've been playing forever chances are you already have one in your arsenal (if not then get one).
Posted: 7-13-03
Submitted by <DarthHippo@aol.com>
The shark DX is an excellent disc. One of the first discs I bought, it gets more use than just about any disc in my bag. I use it on nearly every approach shot. My favorite is a high-release, anhyzer angled backhand. The overstability of the shark tries to turn it over, giving it an excellent float toward the hole. I hangs in the air, just asking the chains to grab it. It is shaped more like a recreational disc than some golf discs, making for an easy transition for an ultimate player. Can be used to drive on shorter holes where control is more important than distance. Excellent disc. I find it to be more overstable than a new stingray, more understable than a used whippet.
Posted: 1-21-03
Submitted by Anonymous
My current level of play is a serious recreational player who's out there 4-5 times/week, and I've measured my throw up to 310 feet--but let me tell you about when I was first was learning how to play disc golf. I bought a Shark because Innova claims that it's the "best all around golf disc." Since I didn't have a large selection of discs to choose from, it seemed like having a versatile disc would be valuable. Being inexperienced, I didn't know that I'd be better served by a lighter disc, and since the local retailers all prefer to stock heavy discs for some unknown reason, I came home with a 180g Shark. Now, I had thrown Wham-O Frisbees since a young age, but I had difficulty making the transition to PDGA approved discs that were smaller in diameter and much heavier than what I was used to. I frequently went out into the field to practice, but I had a lot of difficulty throwing the Shark. Furthermore, I found the rim design to be very uncomfortable in comparison to other Innova models. Looking back, if I would have had a 150 class Shark to learn with, it would have been a much better experience for me. Over the years, I've managed to pick up at least one version of everything that Innova offers, and I also picked up a 147g Shark. I take it out with me into the field to practice with along with all of my other discs, and I get some decent throws with it (particularly the 147g, as opposed to the 180g), but neither of my Sharks make the cut for the game bag that I take along with me to play a round. I know that there are others who like Sharks, so you can read and consider their praise of it, but perhaps it's also helpful to hear from someone who thinks that a Shark isn't so much the "best all round golf disc," but rather a marketing compromise that makes the jack-of-all-trades a master-of-none.
Posted: 11-24-02
Submitted by David Meltzer <DMeltzer@sbralf.com>
When I first started playing disc golf, Terry West gave me a light shark. It was a good beginner's driver as it was easy to control. Now that I've progressed, it's still one of my favorite discs in the bag. Now, I find that it has excellent accuracy for the medium length approach shot. As for durability, I still hit the [more than] occasional tree. This disc really holds it flight characteristics well.
Posted: 06-20-02
Submitted by Chris
The Innova Shark is a slightly overstable medium driver disc. I recently traded my lightweight (about 140g) shark for a heavy exp1 driver because my shark flew much like my light weight teebird. I wanted a variation in my discs, so that's why I traded it. The shark is great for beginners because it is rather slow and floaty. Not much snap or angle is needed for this disc. It can be thrown any way you want (hyzer, anhyzer, s curve, straight), so it teaches beginners about different kinds of shots. it's very effective from medium to approach shots. It doesn't have the speed or power for long drive shots, but everything else it can do. The disc is a little larger than other drivers, so it gets more glide and less speed. My shark had suffered several blows, but it never affected the flight of it, so it must be durable.
Posted: 10-02-01
Submitted by Scott Miller <ksarrow@onemain.com>
The Shark is billed as the "best all around golf disc" by Innova. It flies right in high speed and slightly left in low speed fade. The Shark seems to me to be a cross between a a Roc and a Cobra. It will land and stay put like a Roc but has more speed and glide for longer midrange shots like a Cobra. My friends and I also use the Shark for long putts - it flies straight if released flat but can also get a gentle hyzer. We also use the Shark as a high power roller over uneven terrain or as a "wrecking ball" to blast out from behind a bush in the rough.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page