Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Innova Star
TL

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 165-175g
Plastic: Innova Star

Star TL
Flight Rating Category Value What Innova says:
The TL is the brother of the reliable TeeBird. The “L” stands for “Less Overstable” and “Longer”. This disc has the same great speed and glide as the TeeBird, but is straighter flying with less fade at the end of the flight. If you are looking for a straight flying maximum fairway driver in Star Plastic, the TL is the answer.
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 03-14-08
Submitted by KVDiscPro 21803 kvdiscpro@hotmail.com
PDGA: 21803
Location: Dallas
Level: Pro
Avg Drive: 400
Disc Weights: 175
Review: wow, wish i would have learned this one sooner. this star teebird L 175 bombs. after learning how to release a kc roc correctly, this TL bombs out of my hand. tail wind, it kicks my former distance holder Pro Wraith's butt. also with a cross wind it has been out floating all my high speed drivers distance. it weird how a TL thrown properly with a 7 speed is out flying my wriath and destroyer(with the right wind/release). im getting about 425-450 w/ TL. its also Dead accurate just about on any fairway, its not even scared to see a head wind, if you release hyzer and dont over crank it. most accurate disc in bag, besides KC Roc....
Posted 09-09-07
Submitted by Bryce Cox coxbb@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 167-169
Review: I agree with most everything that's been said already; this has been one of my favorite discs since it first came out in star plastic. The only thing I would add is that I'm constantly surprised at how far this "fairway driver" will actually go. It has such tremendous glide and reliable control that I will often reach for this disc rather than a "max D" driver and I know it will still get there. It is a joy to throw!

By the way, if you're looking for something nearly the same but faster, try a Millenium Serius LS! Very similar flight pattern and you will get the extra D you're looking for.
Posted 08-16-07
Submitted by Natteri Walmsleynr@verizon.net
Disc Weights: 171
Review: This is a great disc and concure with it's ability to hold a line. Very straight very easy to throw. I have had mine for several months and it is still performing well(I play ever day). It can take a beating. Mine is becoming more high speed understable now that it has had considerable use.(trees,roadsetc...) The TL will flight a very long gentle anhyzer if throw just right. TRY IT OUT!
Posted 07-21-07
Submitted by Dave McHale dmchale@gmail.com
Disc Weights: 171
Review: "straight flying maximum fairway driver"... it's not marketing hype, it's the truth. I was looking for a driver that I could trust implicitly, something I could control that would hold a line and act predictably - and when I found the Star TL, I knew I had found it. Never have I been so impressed so quickly by a disc, always going exactly where I tell it with just a minute bit of fade at the end of the flight. Bottom line is that if you're looking for a fairway driver without sacrificing too much distance off your max-D drivers, this is the disc for you.
Posted 06-13-07
Submitted by Anonymous Location: Memphis, TN
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 172
Review: Hello I wanted to tell everyone what a great disc this is. I got month or so ago and I can't believe I ever played with out it before. It has went straight since I bought it. It is great for wooded couses because it has such great control. I would recommend it to anyone. If you are thinking about it just get it you will not be disappointed. However it is not the disc that I reach for max distance.
Posted 06-05-07
Submitted by CW c_white06@sbcglobal.net
Disc Weights: 168
Review: The first time I threw this disc I was suprised how straight it went. I have a champ. T-Bird which I love but can get moe distance and a slightly straighter flight from the TL. There are other discs that will go father but if you are looking for distance AND accuracy this TL won't disapoint.
Posted 05-16-07
Submitted by Wade
PDGA: 32696
Location: Winter Park, FL
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 171
Review: I have thrown a Star TL since they came out and never regret adding it to my bag. It will hold a straight flat line, Hyzer-flip, or slow right turn anhyzer. I have hit many a tree and skipped on sidewalks and roads, and the disc still is in great shape. It is one of the most predictable discs I own and has great glide and distance for a fairway driver. I recommend it for every skill level.
Posted 03-21-07
Submitted by patrick mysteryman007_2000@yahoo.com
Location: lynchburg,va
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 172.8
Review: i find that the Star TL is good for wooded courses. it will fly straight when thrown with high power. with a little finesse it can be used for s-curves to wind around trees. very useful when you are stuck and just trying to make a lay up shot.
Posted 03-09-07
Submitted by Adam S Disc Weights: 171,172
Review: My purpose in buying Star TL was to get a disc that flew somewhat similar to the DX Teebird, but did not wear as quickly. The Star TL has handled this role very well. The two that I rotate are wearing in very slowly and holding lines very well. The Star TL is about 10% shorter than a DX Tbird for me. A new Star TL seems to fade less than a new DX Tbird.
Posted 02-04-07
Submitted by Jungle Tim Disc Weights: 171
Review: Blimey! What a lovely disc, the star TL is a storming disc. Super super straight. However thats not really the top thing about this disk.

The ability and ease with which the disc can be thrown is wonderful. Its like a super long roc for me. Throw it hard or soft and it goes how your throw it no problem. Works best for me with when lots of spin is put itno the disc as it wont fade an inch, just drops straight. Its ace.

get one.
Posted 12-18-06
Submitted by Dylan Knudsen Disc Weights: 175
Review: Great downhill disc!! Fades only at the end of the flight. Easy to turn over but consistent. Excellent starter disc for open flat or downhill shots.
Posted 07-07-06
Submitted by Josh Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 175
Review: The Star TL is just the teebird-l in innova's star plastic, I prefer the -l version of the teebird to the regular teebird. I orginally had a glow teebird that I fell in love with but it hit too many trees. The TL a long range straight shooting disc that I pull out quite often because it is so easy to throw so straight without having to worry much about it fading much. This is such an excellent disc for all drives not looking for max distance, the star plastic lets the TL keep its flight characteristics and does not let it get beat up.
Posted 06-30-06
Submitted by Anonymous Location: Portland, OR
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 163, 171
Review: I've had my 163 TL for quite a while, but I didn't use it a heck of a lot. It flies nice and straight if thrown gently, but I tended to turn it over undpredictably when throwing it hard, getting s-curves or sometimes cranking it right into the ground. The other day, I picked up a hot pink 171 Star TL (I got this mainly as a woods driver, so the premo plastic is worthwhile), and I love this disc. The added weight makes a huge difference for me. I throw it flat and low, and it just goes laser straight, with a very gentle, predictable fade at the end. Great for tunnel shots. It doesn't go as far as my fast distance drivers (for reference, I've been mostly throwing Beasts and lately Wraiths on my open distance shots), but it's got a nice glide that carries it suprisingly far, in a slow and stately way. It's still new, having only hit a couple of trees, but has not shown any turnover tendencies. I wish I'd had this disc when I first started out. It really rewards a flat release. On shorter holes, it's a birdie machine for me, and it's just really satisfying to throw such a smooth, straight, predictable disc.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page