Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Millennium
JLS

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.2cm
Available Weights: 145-175g
Plastic: Millennium

JLS
Flight Rating Category Value What Millennium says:
The JLS started in the summer of 1999 as an experimental run of 2000 discs. Immediately players realized that we had reached a new level in driver technology. Incredibly, the JLS flies farther and straighter than even the legendary LS. And it's got an extra measure of durability. So it was no surprise when the JLS became the best-selling disc in most parts of the country. It is truly an amazing disc.
Maximum Flight Speed 7.0
Resistance To High Speed Turn 4.5
Amount Of Low Speed Fade 6.5
Propensity To Fade 4.0
Glide 5.5
Relative Distance 7.5
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level 2.0
Predictability 2.0
Uniformity Of Break In Period 3.5
Overall Durability 4.0 Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 12-12-07
Submitted by IronHelixx IronHelixx@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 168
Review: The JLS (and QJLS) is one of my favorite disc to throw time after time. I can always depend on it to fly just the way I want it to. The base line Millennium plastic is far better than the base line plastics from other providers and lasts a long time, even after a few visits to the local trees when I screw up a release. As a side note: some people have mentioned ratings on the discs like 1.7 and 1.4 - that is actually the run number (Millennium does not put stability ratings on their discs). The number actually indicates production runs - so 1.7 would be mold 1/Run 7 and 1.4 would be mold 1/run 4, etcetera... just an FYI...
Posted 06-15-07
Submitted by Ted Florence tflo102@yahoo.com
Location: Eagle Ridge...oswego il
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I had a 172 JLS with a stability rating of 1.7, and it was definetly the best disc I have ever owned. If you throw hard and level for the most part it will just soar, first it will turn right a little and come back left. Definetly a good disc for the beginner who is getting better and wants to get even better. But I have another jls that is 174 and 1.4 stability rating, and that thing will always just go right(i throw right handed backhand), so I think alot depends on the type of JLS.
Posted 06-09-07
Submitted by orwell1984 nickothompson@comcast.net
Location: Royal Oak, Mi
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 225
Disc Weights: 168
Review: This disc is by far my favorite. It's excellent for those of us without alot of upperbody strength. Those of you who reviewed and said it turns over too easy, you need a different disc, or a heavier version. Alot of people pay no attention to weight and than judge a disc, which is just ignorant. It is by far THE MOST STRAIGHT THROWING DISC I HAVE EVER THROWN. It took at least 6-8 strokes off of my game ( 24 hole coarse).
Posted 06-30-06
Submitted by Anonymous Location: Knoch Knolls
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 275
Disc Weights: 171
Review: The JLS is a incredibly understable disc. I throw RHFH and it turns left so I get very mad at it. I sometimes leave it behind but it somehow returns to me, whether I walk by it or someone returns it to me. It's a piece of garbage, trust me.
Posted 05-27-06
Submitted by Harold Bramton pagan.harold@gmail.com
Disc Weights: 169
Review: I've found the JLS to be a wonderfully slow turning, high speed understable, driver. If thrown flat it will slowly turn right (RHBH) then straighten out as the disc drops below cruise speed, finishing with a slight left fade. Aim a few degrees to the left of your intended landing and rip it flat for a slow beautiful shot. Although this disc is slower (speed about like a leopard in innova terms) it does have good glide and will fly long.
Posted 03-27-06
Submitted by Joel Fielder Location: Richardson, TX
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 150
Review: I use this disc as a putter. it seems to have enough of an S to take the putts to about 50 feet. For a driver, I would recomend an Innova Champion Orc, or a Discraft Avenger.
Posted 09-29-05
Submitted by Anonymous Disc Weights: 172
Review: love this disc, however seems a little more understable to me, defidently durable though i bent it in half wedged in the branch of a tree, all 5 in the group were sure it was broken but nope...flew funny for one throw and then was back to normal...
Posted: 8-03-05
Submitted by matthew southerland southerlandelectric@yahoo.com
Level: Advanced Am
Avg Drive: 275-300
Review: i read a lot of reviews stating the jls is strighter than the ls in experience tho i have found the oppisite to be true. The Jls is a great flyer but be warned i find them frequently so bennigers shanks may make for a lost disc.
Posted: 8-15-03
Submitted by Anonymous
The JLS is a great disc for powerful forehanders though it works for players of all experence levels. It goes relatively straight and true although there is a small right fade at the end of the forehand shot.The plastic of the JLS resembles that of Innova pro or champion plastic and gives a better release to your shots as well as being a very durable, hard to break disc.This was my first disc as a beginner and I loved it then and still love it as an experenced player.
Posted: 4-28-02
By Blake Takkunen - the Webmaster - <blake@discgolf.com>
My Review:
The Millennium JLS is a fast, small diameter stable driver. Stability-wise this disc ranks somewhere between a Teebird and XL in resistance to turnover and has fade in the ballpark of an XL, Eagle, or Valkyrie and the fade portion occurs fairly late in its flight. The JLS is a very straight flyer when thrown hyzer and flattening it out. It seems to have a good ability to "plane out" and hold a flat line very late into its flight where it will fall to the left. Throw this disc flat and there's a chance you will turn it over, and like a Teebird or XL, it will not come back if it's turned too far. This does make it a good choice for holes with a constant right turn. Speedwise this disc ranks in there with a Leopard or SE Teebird TL. It's not overly fast, but once it flattens out it will carry with quite a bit of speed. I do recommend knowing your power-level before trying this disc. If you don't get enough on it it will have quite a bit of fade at the end. The plastic and mold design of this disc do enhance its durability as it's got a very structurally sound rim design and slightly thicker flight plate than a lot of the latest fast drivers. This disc is a popular choice amongst both men and women of all ability levels. Although this disc is beginner friendly, I do recommend having control of your hyzer/flat/anhyzer release angles before you purchase this disc as throwers with an anhyzer tendency will probably be turning this disc over.
Posted: 10-05-01
Submitted by Scott Miller <ksarrow@onemain.com>
The JLS flies straight for a good line drive shot, with a slight fade to the left at the end. The JLS has a nice dome to it, which causes it to have nice glide in the fade portion of the shot. I find the JLS to fly almost exactly like a KC Pro Teebird, but perhaps a slightly longer length. With the slicker plastic, it even feels about the same.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page