Disc Golf Review
Site
Home
News
Submit Review
Contact
E-Mail

Disc Reviews
Aerobie
CHING
DGA
Discmania
Discraft
Discwing
Gateway
Innova
Latitude 64
Lightning
Little Flyer
Millennium
Quest
Snap
Wham-O
Other

Accessories
Bags
Baskets
Videos
Miscellaneous

Resources
Disc Flight Ratings
Instructional Articles
Technique Repair
Throw Analysis
Beginner Tips
Disc Selection
Dyeing Discs
"Best of" Awards
Links

Interact
Chat
Surveys
Forum

Other
Acknowledgements
The Contributors


Disc Review



Quest
Inferno

Type: Driver
Diameter: 21.0cm
Available Weights: 163-175g
Plastic: NA

Inferno
Flight Rating Category Value What Quest says:
A revolutionary disc design that combines Speed, Glide and Control! This disc can be thrown very straight and very long over a wide range of speeds. Guaranteed to be the farthest flying disc in your bag!
Maximum Flight Speed NA
Resistance To High Speed Turn NA
Amount Of Low Speed Fade NA
Propensity To Fade NA
Glide NA
Relative Distance NA
Qualitative Analysis Value
Recommended Skill Level NA
Predictability NA
Uniformity Of Break In Period NA
Overall Durability NA Description of the Ratings System.


Player Reviews

Posted 04-05-08
Submitted by Frank S franksacco@intergate.com
Location: New Jersey
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 170-172
Review: The Quest AT Inferno is by far a distance record breaker for me. This disc is designed for big distance but doesn't need a big arm. It has an incredible high speed turn and comes back nicely at the end of the flight resulting in a straight long shot. The Inferno has a great grip, feel, and durability. It's almost impossible to throw this disc badly since it seems to correct itself shortly after leaving your hand. A must disc to have!
Posted 11-28-07
Submitted by JD Hazel JHBLADER86@aol.com
Disc Weights: 175
Review: A new review of the Inferno. Originally I HATED this disc. I believed it to be a stable driver like an Orc or at least a TeeBird, not knowing it was understable, which explained why I thought the disc was a POS. But now I know that the disc is understable, and with this newfound knowledge decided to buy another one, only this time, releasing it to cause a hyzer-flip and now I LOVE this disc. It doesnt go as far as my Diablo-DT's, but when I need uphill distance this disc delivers!!! It has amazing speed and glide, so I primarily use it for long uphill drives, and use my Diablo-DT's for flat out distance on flat ground. But as stated in my first review, DO NOT throw into the wind. If you want max distance out of this disc then throw hyzer-flip!
Posted 10-31-07
Submitted by Frank S franksacco@intergate.com
Location: New Jersey
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 170-172
Review: Love the inferno. This disc feels great in hand with lots of grip and rip. I definitely added 50 feet to my drives using this disc. This disc reminds me of Discraft's XS when it first came out, but the Inferno flies farther. Great flight characteristics to boot. I highly recommend it.
Posted 07-23-07
Submitted by Josh Location: Minneapolis
Disc Weights: 175
Review: Someone kindly included an old beat up 175 Inferno as an extra disc in a trade to me. This disc rolls like a dream: It's very easy to stand up, rolls long and predicably.

But that is not all. Oh no that is not all. The Inferno is also the ideal hyzer flip distance line disc. It's also great for hitting gaps and carving lines through the woods at about 80% power.
Posted 07-09-07
Submitted by Jason clark shayandjelly@yahoo.com
Disc Weights: 175
Review: This disc has so much control for shots 400 to 450! Yes if you throw it wrong it will flip! If you have proper form and good tech, it is the best long range control driver on the market.
Posted 05-01-07
Submitted by JD Gentry jgentry@envsci.com
Disc Weights: 172
Review: I purchased this disc at a tournament becuase I had heard some good things about it. On the first throw I realized that Gateways stabilty ratings are a bit off. For anyone with any power this is going to be a turnover disc. If I rip it at full power without putting a good bit of hyzer on it the disc quickly turns over and takes off rolling. Also, the E plastic is nothing like the durablilty of champion, star, ESP, or Z plastic like gateway tries to claim. It is at best as durable as elite X plastic. This disc can add some distance if you are an average thrower, but I found it very unpredictable. It also is horrible in the wind. Any head or side wind and you might as well leave it in the car.
Posted 04-09-07
Submitted by Matt Hall matt@gdstour.com
PDGA: 18133
Location: Ace. TX
Level: Pro
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 175
Review: The last guy to post was on something IMO. Everyone I know thinks that the Inferno is great for people with slower arm speed as well as bigger arms when thrown at 70% power. The disc is not overstable and is great for big anhyzers as well as 70% power shots that will CRUISE down a tunnel on a perfectly straight line.
Posted 03-15-07
Submitted by Matt mjgoode31@comcast.net
Location: Northville MI
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 176
Review: First off, this disc is not for beginners. The Inferno requires a strong arm. As soon as the Inferno loses speed it will break out of its glide and take a hard left plunge to the ground.

Also note, this disc is TERRIBLE in the wind. It is an overstable disc that becomes more so the slower it is thrown, which can be a good and a bad thing.

The disc can come in some pretty high weight classes. I would recommend no more than 172. My 176 is quite a workout.

When i first got the disc i could not throw it. It took me about 5 outings of throwing my arm out until i could control it.

The Inferno shines when it has as much speed as u can put into it. The disc needs to be released at an angle that negates its natural overstablity. I got used to throwing like this by leaning way back as i released it. The disc is known for its huge distance, but it cannot achieve this flying in a straight line.

The Inferno is the GOD of the S-curve. Its perfect for long open drives, and weaving around obstacles. A great tool for any experienced player, not much benefit for a beginner.
Posted 02-11-07
Submitted by Anonymous
Disc Weights: 175
Review: This is by far the farthest disc i have ever thrown, i thought that my new star wraith was the farthest disc in my bag, but when i got a hold of this i new i found my DISTANCE DRIVER,

All in all: i would definately recomend this disc to anyone
Posted 12-05-06
Submitted by Anonymous Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 300
Disc Weights: 171g
Review: Before I got an Inferno, I used a Spectra. I had been looking for the perfect max D driver for awile. When I first started, I used a dragon, but it was too slow. Then I tried a: Dx Wraith, Z Flash, Esp Surge, and then the Spectra, but all of them just didn't work for me. I found the Inferno while browsing on gdstours.com. When I heard the Pros talk about it, I was amazed! I thought to myself "I have to get one!". Then I got one last week and it was awsome! It added 40' right away. The Inferno has the speed and glide of the Wraith with the straight flying performence of the TL. It is a disc that can be used by both Beginners and Pros.
Posted 11-06-06
Submitted by Christian Rehder Location: Denmark - Sealevel
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 325
Disc Weights: 173
Review: Gateways new Inferno has been well recieved by good players. I have got one of the earlier runs. It is marked Gateway/Quest prototype as the stamp. The disc fits nicely in my hand, even though my hands are on the small side. The flightplate feels very thing and flexible. I usually throw teebirds around 290-310. The Inferno goes between 340-360 for me. You dont need to throw it very fast. I usually release it with a slight hyzer and it will flip to flat and tracks very sligthly right before fading very slightly left. The great thing distance wise with this disc is that it has very little lateral fade. It seems that the disc fades mostly forward. The plastic added with the "watermarks" that are on the edge of the disc help with grip. As far as durablity is concerned it seems to wear slowly. But again I havent had the disc for that long and I only use it for open holes. So I dont know how it takes treehits. It flies much longer than the previously mentioned DX Tbird, but also I throw ProD Cyclones and X Avengers. These all go rather similar distances for me. With the cyclones going smidgin shorter.
Posted 10-30-06
Submitted by JD Hazel Location: Bowling Green, KY
Level: Amateur
Avg Drive: 350
Disc Weights: 166
Review: I recently purchased a brand new Inferno from Dave McCormick himself. He was sponsoring a tournament I was playing in, and he allowed me to throw the new Inferno driver. I loved it at first and bought it immediately. The next day I was throwing in my backyard and this disc does not hold up at all in the wind and flipped over into ground very easily. Like the Quarter K, you smack something and its done. This disc was such a waste of $10.
Posted 10-28-06
Submitted by Thatdirtykid thatdirtykid@gmail.com
PDGA: 31101
Location: CO
Level: Adv. Am
Avg Drive: 450
Disc Weights: 170-175
Review: I have neglected posting any reviews lately because I spend so much time on the fourm, but thought I should talk up some of the discs that have been changing my game: The new addition to gateways high speed driver line is something different. The E inferno is not really E plastic, its somewhere between E and H (or innova comparison between Star and Pro), so its not as durable as most E plastic discs. (I do hear David M is going to run them in regualar E soon) Stability is alittle less than a wraith. For me the rim is easier to grip than any other wide rim driver due to the sof t curved inner rim. But whats most amazing about this disc is it comes out of its turn into the fade much more gently and later than any driver of its speed (11+). Its pretty controlable for a Max D Driver, w/ some hyzer you can toss it on a straight line, but its best for long gentle S shots for max D. I really only throw it when I need a high distance line, such as over trees, or max D in an open field. It yields about 40-50' more distance over my SOLF and about 25-30' over my SOLS. (or a touch longer than a wraith, or 30' longer than an avenger on a golf line)
Posted 10-26-06
Submitted by Bryan Jenkins Disc Weights: 171
Review: Great disc, saw on a website decided to give it a shot. Its very easy to throw, different type of design, extremely hard edges, soft plastic in the middle. Its very easy to put this disc on a line and watch it hit it dead on. Another plus is its very hard to turn over. Only downside is its probably not going to give you the longest throw I can put it at 300-310' but it will be the straightest driver you've ever thrown. I believe you can get 400-425' out of this disc with a perfect throw.
Posted 10-23-06
Submitted by Ryan sryangould@hotmail.com
Disc Weights: 168
Review: This thing is Fast and glides like crazy. I will tell you that it is weird though. You have to let it go at like a 45 degree angle or it flips off to the right big time. But if you get a hold of this thing it will fly probably 10-20 metres past your usual drive. A real course shortener.
Submit Your Review
Back to Main Page