My dye process

Disc Artwork, Dying, Technique etc...

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

My dye process

Postby spitfire » Sun Apr 13, 2008 7:28 pm

This is a small "how to" I put together for dying disc. I am not a pro at this but have put together a simple process to get some nice dye jobs. I got a lot of info on how to do this from a couple diferent websites and thought I would put it all together here.

Step 1
Find the design that you want to use. For your first dye I would do something on the easy side.

Step 2
You will want to setup a light box. I used a piece of glass, work lamp and 2 boxes to make the light box as seen below.

Step 3.
Tape your design onto the glass.

Step 4.
Tape on a piece of contact paper over your design on turn on the light so you can trace the design onto the contact paper.

This is what you should have after you trace the design onto the contact paper.

Step 5.
Use an exacto knife, I like the pen style, to cut out the stencil.

Step 6.
Once you cut out the design you want to apply masking tape over the stencil. What you are doing is making a "transfer tape" this keeps all the small pieces in place when transfering the stencil to the disc.

Step 7.
Cut the stencil inside the tape lines so you have something like this.

Step 8.
Now you want to take the stamp off your disc. I like to use laquer thinner but you can also use acetone or carb cleaner.

Step 9.
Now flip the stencil over and start taking off the backing of the contact paper. Start from the inside and work your way out.

This is what it should look like when you take all the backing off.

Step 10.
Apply the stencil to the disk.

Step 11.
Peel off the masking tape making sure the contact paper stays attached to the disc

Step 12.
Once all the masking tape is off now you want to take off the contact paper in the areas that you want the dye to be.

Step 13.
You want to make sure the entire disc is covered by contact paper.

Step 14.