Minimalist Bag for an "Old Dawg"

Post your Bag Critique Requests, Talk about your Bag set up etc...

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Minimalist Bag for an "Old Dawg"

Postby shawnman696 » Thu Nov 11, 2010 5:45 pm

Please feel free to offer any thoughts or advice on discs or technique. I am new to Disc Golf, but enjoy it very much, I have been playing catch "frisbee" for 40+ years. While still a kid at heart, I am getting a little "long in the tooth", having reached "Old Dawg" status among most of my cohorts.

I throw mostly RHBH with putters up to 175 feet; the Innova Aero and Discraft Soft APX my favorites.
My max distance is currently 230 feet, with a Discraft Comet, but 210 to 215 feet is average.
There has not been any disc that I have thrown over 230 feet on a calm day, using a X-step approach.
My desire is to carry 5 to 7 discs, and continue to improve on my 2 months of enjoyable, steady play.

Below is my current inventory of discs, many of which were trial and error decisions:

Distance Drivers:
167 G Spectra, EliteZ
171 G AvengerSS, ProD
170 G Stalker, EliteX
150 G Dragon, DX
167 G TL, Star

Fairway Drivers:
165 G Impact, ESP
177 G Impact, ESP
170 G Cyclone, EliteX (Can't throw well)
150 G XL, ProD (Straight)
165 G XL, EliteX
165 G Cheetah, DX (Can't throw well)

Mid-Range Drivers:
150 G Skeeter, Star
164 G Comet, EliteZ (Favorite)
165 G Comet, EliteX
167 G Buzzz, EliteZ
171 G Buzzz, ProD
173 G Mako, Star (Most Workable)

Putt & Approach Drives:
167 G Dart, Star
174 G Aero, EchoStar
174 G Soft APX, EliteX (Favorite)
175 G Aviar, DX
175 G Birdie, DX

My skills are limited, as my distances indicate, but accuracy is steadily improving with many pars in each round with a near ace or two each round. I play a varied course with wooded fairways, for the most part. My forehand throws are shorter and less accurate than my backhands, so I usually throw RHBH.