New Drives - 08/15/2009

Post your videos for Critique/Comment etc..

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

New Drives - 08/15/2009

Postby gretagun » Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:16 pm

Here are a few drives I recorded this morning. The ones I kept for youtube are mostly with Champ TeeBirds and Orcs. I have no idea how far these are going, but I'm looking for ways to improve. I'm not good at critiquing these vids, but here is what I've noticed:

The disc looks like it needs to get a little further in front of my body before it ejects.

My footwork also looks like I'm setting up for an anhyzer, going from back right to front left.

It still looks liking I'm "lunging" too far forward, and I believe I want to be more upright at the hit.

Feel free to rip these apart!

Drives 1-3

Drives 4-6
Wizard>Roc>Leopard>Teebird>Orc>Firebird
gretagun
Tree Magnet

Favorite Disc: DX Rancho Roc

Re: New Drives - 08/15/2009

Postby dgdave » Sat Aug 15, 2009 2:29 pm

Your arm looks hella tense before your pull. It also looks like you're pre cocking your wrist. You don't need to do that because your pull should do that for you.
"The Gauge may be the best disc ever"
-dgdave

Destroyer/Enforcer/PD/TD/XXX/Gauge/Suspect/Clutch/P2
dgdave
DGR Postmaster General

Favorite Disc: GAUGE!

Postby gretagun » Sat Aug 15, 2009 6:35 pm

By pre-cocking, you mean my wrist is pretty much closed throughout the throw? I see what you are talking about now, but I'm not doing that consciously.
gretagun
Tree Magnet

Postby dgdave » Sat Aug 15, 2009 6:41 pm

Yup. If you do that you won't get the bounce back if the pull does it naturally.
-dgdave

dgdave
DGR Postmaster General

Postby gretagun » Sat Aug 15, 2009 6:46 pm

Thanks for pointing this out. I never thought I was doing it, but it's pretty dang clear here:

gretagun
Tree Magnet

Postby keltik » Sat Aug 15, 2009 7:15 pm