My first time on video

Post your videos for Critique/Comment etc..

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

My first time on video

Postby dukeblue1987 » Fri Sep 04, 2009 10:37 am

I've been playing for about 2-3 months and this is the first time I've been on video.

Back view http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=153lLY_vzTk
Side view http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cBPBNb9xG0A

I don't know a whole lot about technique, but I immediately noticed that I throw with the nose of the disc up. This explains why the disc falls hard to the left instead of gliding to the ground. How can i correct this? Any other changes to be made?

Thanks,
Mike
dukeblue1987
Noob

Favorite Disc: Roc

Re: My first time on video

Postby dukeblue1987 » Fri Sep 04, 2009 7:39 pm

No comments? :(
dukeblue1987
Noob

Postby keltik » Fri Sep 04, 2009 7:51 pm

i'll comment.....i haven't watched the vids yet....and you posted two.....on DGR we have to watch the posted vids at least 20 times.....try to recover from laughing.....and then we post a reply.....just be patient

EDIT:oh and to answer your initial question about nose down.....it all starts with the grip....what grip do you use?....or do you know?
keltik
2010 DGR Donator

Favorite Disc: Polecat!! Ò.ó

Postby keltik » Fri Sep 04, 2009 9:09 pm

okay kid.....the biggest thing you lack is snap......have you read anything in our Technique forum?.....if you haven't i suggest you get on it.....me and others will give you advice and you may not understand wtf we're talking about

okay three things you do well
1 the last steps of your run up are fairly compact
2 you look like you lead with your elbow
3 and you follow through fairly well

all of these can still be improved upon though

three things that need to be improved the most
1 you need to get your body mass slightly down....and a LOT forward
2 you need to turn more with your hips
3 and you need to make your pull on a lower line (below your nipples)