Getting better?

Post your videos for Critique/Comment etc..

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Getting better?

Postby Chris-pee » Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:58 pm

trying out some new stuff, trying to get closer to chest and more body involvment. Its hard to tell by watching though :oops:

Can anyone suggest one major thing I need to change/improve?

You can stop watching after 54 sec. I uploaded it straight from my phone so its not edited.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hSLhWk0COIw

Thanks!
Chris-pee
Tree Magnet

Favorite Disc: Comet

Re: Getting better?

Postby Firios » Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:42 pm

NOTE: I am not an expert opinion.

That being said, the beginning to the pull back seems REALLY awkward. Personally, I would say get that second hand off the disc sooner. It seems like on your pull back, you are LITERALLY pulling the disc back with your arm, when instead it should be the winding up of the hips that make the arm come back to the set position. The majority of the time if I throw poorly, it is because my reachback was an arm motion, and not a natural whip from my hip motion.

You are also clearly not pausing at the right pec, you start your hit way too early. Again, it looks like you are primarily using your arm to get your arm speed up, the secret is to let your arm go limp, and use your hip motion to get the arm to do what it wants.

P.S How much distance are you getting with that form? Just curious.
Firios
Noob

Favorite Disc: KC Pro Roc

Postby JHern » Thu Jan 21, 2010 10:08 pm

Hard to tell if you're getting much elbow stop in your throw. I doesn't seem to stop, but that could just be the slow video frame rate.
Japan bag...
Drivers: Starlite Wraith (158g), Gummy Champion Leopard (150g), 1st Run Z-Talon (150g)
Mid-Range: Star Classic Roc (146g), R-Pro Roc (157g)
Putt/Approach: Legacy Protege Clozer (158g), Glow DX Aviar (150g)
JHern
Please ask me about my insider info on pros! Oh GOD please ask me!

Favorite Disc: Clutch