Feedback on drives

Post your videos for Critique/Comment etc..

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Feedback on drives

Postby Airwide » Sat May 15, 2010 11:30 pm

Hello all,

I've been playing disc golf regularly since august 2009 and my drives max out at around 290'-310' (occasionally at 330') on golf lines. I would like to get some feedback on how tp improve my driving distance.

Video link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j0eCZXPRM5c

There was about 3-5 m/s headwind.

Approximate distances:
X Buzzz - 250'
Valkyrie - 300'
Orion LS - 300'

Help is much appreciated!

Kind regards,
Arvid
Airwide
Noob

Re: Feedback on drives

Postby JR » Sun May 16, 2010 12:53 am

Welcome. Where do you come from you have a Nordic name?

You plant foot 70-80 degrees left of the target. Planting can be done up to 180 away and properly executed every degree adds power. To properly execute isn't easy so initially you might lose power from going too far for your comfort. Your final step is too long because you didn't get your heart as close to the target as the right knee. If you bent your waist forward that could happen. So try the waist bend forward first.

Prior to reaching back you hold the disc close to the right pectoral muscle where it needs to be during the throw. You turn the body too early toward the target so that the disc is close to the left pec. But yu turn so early and so fast that by the time the disc is at the right pec there is a lot of distance between the disc and the right pec. This takes away from the angle of the elbow which reduces snap and robs power.