jivey311 Drive analysis

Post your videos for Critique/Comment etc..

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

jivey311 Drive analysis

Postby jivey311 » Tue Mar 22, 2011 7:41 pm

Hello, posting my drive for critique. I'm a DGCR member also, but this site seems to be better for learning technique.

I've been playing for 11 years, but want to get better. My goal this summer is to add 50-100 feet of distance. Hopefully, you can help me get there. I've read and practiced beato drills, hammer pound, numerous technique videos, blake walker videos, all articles of main page.

I've done my discing down since last summer. I'm pretty set on my bag now. I usually go with lower weights, (172g and below).

Valkyrie / Teebird / *Roc / Buzzz / Fuse / Soft Banger GT / Challenger
DRIVERS AVG: 300-310
DRIVERS MAX: 320-320

MIDS AVG: 260-275
MIDS MAX: 300

PUTTERS AVG: 230-240
PUTTERS MAX: 250

I go RHBH on 90% of drives since that's my power shot. RHFH, I used to do when I first started, but I haven't really worked on it for max distance. It's for more of finesse shots and utility shots. I did put a couple of shots there at the end of the video. FH for distance is something I could use improving at also.

So here it is:

jivey311
Noob

Favorite Disc: Star Valkyrie

Re: jivey311 Drive analysis

Postby turso » Tue Mar 22, 2011 9:07 pm

You're lacking in followthrough. You're not pushing the elbow forwards like you should, and it looks to me like you're actually letting go of the disc instead of letting it rip itself out of your hold. You seem to be releasing even before your left pec at some throws, which would be corrected if you bring your elbow more aggressively forward when throwing. To me it seems that you'd benefit greatly from watching Beto's driving vids. In the slowmo I also noticed that you start pulling before your pivot foot is properly planted, which will lead to many problems.

The link to Beto's vid: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nED7gcXobEo