I hope I don't regret this

Post your videos for Critique/Comment etc..

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

I hope I don't regret this

Postby Midnightbiker » Fri Sep 26, 2008 4:37 pm

Ok, my father took some video of me last week teeing off with his cell phone. I can't seem to get over 270ft, so please tell me what I am going wrong. I am they guy in the black shirt. That is my brother in the red:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-akXeIpHgc
Listen to The Love Doctors on Real Radio 10am-3pm Eastern
Click here
http://www.wzzr.com/pages/the_lovedocs.html
Midnightbiker
Plastic Fondler

Favorite Disc: Magnet

Postby mark12b » Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:06 pm

i'm not too good at video critiques, so i'll let others say more, but the first thing that jumps out for me is that your hips don't open until well after the release. you need to think of the throw as more of an uncoiling motion, with the hips starting to face the target when the pull starts.
mark12b
1000 Rated Poster

Postby WraithMe » Fri Sep 26, 2008 5:07 pm

The main thing I see is that you are failing to utilize your hips for power. Your hips do not turn at all untill the disc is gone. Leading the throw with a powered hip turn could likley add 50' to your throw. There is a lot that happens during the pull, too much to think about while I throw but I'll give you my checklist that highlights the things that are critical for me.

Grip the disc tight but ensure my lower arm swings freely before I begin to throw.
Get my knees bent as I runup so that I can utilize my leg muscles.
(here is the x step and then plant)
Push off and lift my rear leg and then rotate my hips as fast as possible.
Pull through close to my chest.
Hard shoulder turn/arm pull.

I was getting about 330' without a pull close to my chest. Max D and golf D were basically the same.