Ok, i witnessed something this weekend at the swiss championship that realy left me speechless and i dont know what to do from here.
During the final in ne cathegory ( wont name names ) there was one realy close fight, two of the players were 1 shot apart all week end and fighting back and forth. There was one drive from player A that went OB, and there was a big discussion between the two on where it went out. Player A claimed that it went out 150 feet further than where player B claimed that it went out. There were 4 people in this flight, and some bystanders too. There were two people watching them play that are pdga officials. One open official and one official that played in the same age cathegory as the two that had the fight. Why they didnt intervene is beyond me as EVERYBODY there agreed with player B.
From how I understand the rules, if there is a dispute on where the disc went out, you have to ask the flight, right ? You have to get to a group decision, right ? And for a group decision to count, everybody in the flight has to have voiced his opinion, right ? However that player A just ignored the complaints by player B and continued to play from where he thought he went out without waiting for the rest of the flight to say something, 150 feet ahead of where he should have played. He won the tournament by one stroke.
I realy lost alot of respect for that guy that day. But i wonder who's mistake that was in the end ( except the cheating bastard of course, who gets all the blame anyway ). Player B for not insisting ? The flight for not making a proper group decision ? The pdga officials watching and not intervening ? The spectators for not buu-ing him off the course ?