803.10 Throwing From Another Player's Lie
A. A player who has thrown from another player's lie shall receive two penalty throws, without
a warning. The offending player shall complete the hole as if the other player's lie were his
or her own. No throws shall be replayed.
B. The player whose lie was played by the offending player shall be given an approximate lie as
close to the original lie as possible, as determined by the offending player, a majority of his
or her group, or an official. See section 803.11 C if the disc has been declared lost.
I know it would be the cheesiest thing ever for a player to throw OB in the water and then intentionally go play off of another player's lie, but doesn't this rule create a loophole that players can exploit if their throw is OB or their disc is lost? I mean, they would have to pretend it was an accident to avoid DQ under rule 3.3, but isn't there a possibility tthat a dishonest player could benefit as long as they pretended it was not intentional?
Also, the part of the rule that references rule 803.11C, as part of section B of the rule, appears to be referring to the disc of the player whose lie was played by the offending player. Is that possible? Are they saying that the "victim" whose lie got played, if they had said his disc was lost, gets those penalty strokes removed upon discovering that his disc was thrown or picked up by the other player? Or is it saying to ignore rule 8.10 if the offending player's disc is actually lost, and make him rethrow? Something else?
If the offending player's disc resulting in the lie that the offending player did NOT play was OB or lost (e.g., the offending player threw OB and then played off another's lie, and the disc is discovered OB thereafter), do they have to count penalty throws for the OB or lost disc IN ADDITION to the penalty throws incurred for playing off another player's lie?