So somebody in my club has a question, or thinks he found a loophole in the rules. I have an idea of how the ruling goes on this but wanted to hear from others before I answered him.
He said "I think I found a loop hole in the PDGA rule book. Correct me if I'm wrong but according to 803.10.a, if I throw into a lake and the other player booms a 450 ft throw, couldn't I throw from their lie and take a 2 stroke penalty and theoretically still get a par or better on that hole? Just playing devils advocate here. Let me know. The rule says "a player who has thrown from another players lie shall receive two penalty throws, without a warning. The offending player shall complete the hole as if the other players lie were his own. No throws shall be replayed." so in theory if I just walked right up and threw from their lie I would receive two penalty strokes and could keep playing from that spot no matter how close to the basket. "
So would he take the 1 stroke penalty for throwing in the water, then a 2 stroke penalty for throwing from the other lie? That's what my thinking is. Then he'd be throwing for 5 on his 2nd shot correct? I'm not positive, so wanted to make sure. Thanks
Destroyer, PD, Orc, Vision, XXX, Tee Bird, River, KC Roc, S Ion, M Anode, Aviar