Chuck Kennedy wrote:Rule 804.02B refers to missing the mando on the incorrect side. That means the disc crossed the "Missed" mando line. AND, unless the disc crosses back over the same "Missed" mando line, the Mando has been missed. The "Made" mando line, if it exists, does not matter since it's not the same line as the Missed mando line being referred to. Perhaps they could have made the wording more clear. But it's not incorrect as it stands.
Chuck, I understand what you are saying and I think rules to that effect would make great sense but the problem is that is not how the rules have been written.
804.02A defines a mandatory line:
If no line has been marked, the mandatory line is defined as a straight line through the mandatory...
I will argue that a line which passes through a mandatory extends to both sides of the mandatory, or else it would not be passing through it.
A throw has missed the mandatory if it passes the incorrect side of the mandatory from the direction of the tee, and establishes a position completely beyond the mandatory line.
So if a disc passes on the incorrect side of the mando but bounces back and establishes a position on the tee side of the mandatory line, the disc has not (yet) missed the mandatory according to 804.02A and B, regardless of which side of the mando the disc passes on the way back.
Furthermore, none of the two situations in Simeon´s drawings seem to be in conflict with 804.02E(though situation no 2 is hard to call):
...A line connecting the lies for the hole must pass to the correct sides of all mandatories for the hole.
(If however the rule had been referring to a line consisting of the actual flight paths instead of a line connecting the lies, situation no 1 would be conflicting with 804.02E and situation no 2 would be clearly ok, but that is not how the rules are written).