Does this putt count?

Rules Discussion and General PDGA discussion.

Moderators: Timko, Fritz, Solty, Booter, Blake_T, Frank Delicious

Does this putt count?

Postby arowan21 » Tue Jul 08, 2008 6:58 pm

Today I was playing a round with my friend. I ended up landing a shot both touching the ground and the basket (not the pole). There is a lot of sand around the basket due to the recent flooding. I was told an ace counts if the disc is stuck in the side of basket, so I thought the putt would count too. Below is an image.


Brown is sand piled around the basket
Red is Disc
Tree Magnet
Posts: 186
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 12:52 am
Location: Des Moines, IA
Favorite Disc: DGA Squall

Postby dgdave » Tue Jul 08, 2008 7:13 pm

If it was just touching the basket, no. If it was stuck in the side of the basket, yes.
"The Gauge may be the best disc ever"

"Who the hell throws a Gauge?"
DGR Postmaster General
Posts: 12114
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 8:22 pm
Location: Central OK
Favorite Disc: GAUGE!

Postby zealot » Tue Jul 08, 2008 7:27 pm

1000 Rated Poster
Posts: 1374
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 12:49 pm
Location: Canton, Ohio
Favorite Disc: Pro Rhyno

Postby Leopard » Tue Jul 08, 2008 7:32 pm

... just can't help myself


(putt doesn't count)
Forward Visualyzer
User avatar
Posts: 4465
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 4:04 pm
Location: 30 miles x 100 miles x stinking island
Favorite Disc: Leo

Postby Fritz » Tue Jul 08, 2008 8:23 pm

No because the disc is not fully supported by the basket. Even if it was partially in the cage there, it still wouldn't count because the ground is partially supporting the disc.
Team Millennium
Play Smart. Keep it Simple. Throw MILLENNIUM.
#26702 ♦ CE Omega ♦ Omega SS ♦ QMS ♦ Q Sentinel ♦ CE JLS ♦ Q Polaris ♦ Q Astra ♦ QOLS ♦ QOLF ♦ Q Quasar ♦ CE Exp-1
Naturally Athletic
User avatar
Posts: 4679
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 2:01 pm
Location: Fruita, CO
Favorite Disc: QMS

Return to Rules Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest