is no x-step OK?

Information, Questions, Discussion about Throwing Mechanics and Technique

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

is no x-step OK?

Postby KRooster » Wed Aug 16, 2006 4:53 pm

I started playing about a month ago... very quickly (within a week or two) I was throwing my midranges very accurately up to around 250' max. I didn't know how to do the x-step, but having played years of ultimate it was easy to transition to throwing midranges with ok distance and great accuracy. I really sucked at driving though.

Then, I learned the x-step. My drives went up to around 300' pretty quickly, with less than a week of practice in a field and on a course with much longer holes. I was pumped. Then, I went back to a shorter course. I was driving up to around 250' with my putter and 280' with my midrange.... but the accuracy was totally gone on holes shorter than 260'. Lots of just bad throws, some off-axis torque occassionally. Especially the shorter holes.

My scores from right before I learned the x-step, on shorter courses, were WAY lower than my scores on the same courses after a couple weeks of practicing the x-step.
Is there anything wrong with switching back to this setup:

For anything <180' use a runup with putter (no x-step).
For anything 180'-250' use a runup with midrange (no x-step).
For anything >250' use a midrange (x-step).

I hear people say I should use my putter on a 250' hole if I can drive it that far, but I miss being able to take my midrange and nail a birdie a lot of the time without using the x-step. Will I suffer greatly in the long run by not learning to use a putter on those 180'-250' holes? In what way?

I want to be playing disc golf a long time, so I'm willing to take a step backwards to take two steps forward. BTW, thanks for the amazing site Blake!!!!

-Kevin
KRooster
Tree Magnet

Favorite Disc: Pure

Postby rehder » Thu Aug 17, 2006 12:21 am

Hello Kevin