How do you set up your midrange shot?

Information, Questions, Discussion about Throwing Mechanics and Technique

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

How do you set up your midrange shot?

Postby coogs » Wed Aug 23, 2006 11:50 am

It looks like there's not any videos on midrange shots in the throw analysis section, so I'm curious as to how you guys throw on these shots.

Do you take one step; are your legs stationary; and any other things I may have missed.
coogs
Tree Magnet

Postby KRooster » Wed Aug 23, 2006 12:46 pm

Well I'm just a beginner, but I spent a lot of time over the last couple weeks trying to figure that out. Some people told me stationary is ok, x-step is ok, whatever is comfortable.

After much testing I've found doing an x-step is most natural for me between 180-240', I just don't grip the disc quite as hard and I don't reach back quite as far. Anything less than 180' I think I do mostly stationary... if it's close to 180', I rotate around my left foot (I think).

I say do whatever works, my short-mid game started out really good and then went to crap when I thought about it too much. Now I don't think about it on the shorter holes, I just try to get the disc where it needs to go, and my short game is back.
KRooster
Tree Magnet

Favorite Disc: Pure

Postby garublador » Wed Aug 23, 2006 1:22 pm

For me, "midrange" is from about 250'-310' or so and to get my midranges out that far I do a full x-step and drive the same as I would with my drivers. I'll do the same with shots down to about 200', but I'll use a putter instead. Just make sure to get your weight forward, minimize off-axis torque and have a strong follow through. Don't worry about throwing hard, maximizing your reach back or anything that'd you do to get maximum distance.
garublador
Disc Whore

Postby Rob » Wed Aug 23, 2006 5:32 pm