I'm brand new to Disc golf, and I want more distance!!!

Information, Questions, Discussion about Throwing Mechanics and Technique

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

I'm brand new to Disc golf, and I want more distance!!!

Postby peten16 » Sun Sep 17, 2006 5:57 pm

I have only played 4 times, but I have been devouring any info I can find on technique and disc selection. I have been using two drviers: I first got a Star Wraith 175 and then when I got more educated, I got a DX Beast 167.

My problem, particularly with the Wraith, is that I can throw it straight at first , but it always climbs (nose up) slows down and "fades" tough. The best I can get is 165 feet. I do not have as much of a fade issue with the Beast, but I still get "the climb". I can not thow it quite as far as the Beast.

I have the "x-step down", and I leading with my hips then shoudler, I am keeping a tight 3 or 4 finger power grip, proper thumb placement and all, but I can't see to keep the nose down and /or get more distance.

I am 35, not a small guy, and have good leg strength (I run 22 miles a week). What can I do to build my distance? Is this just a thing that will come with time or can I fix it now? I am not asking for 300-400 footers, I just woud like to break 200 for now.

As a point of info, I have been using a DX Gator 175 for midrange and approach and I have thrown it very accurately and straight, but not all that far either. I have also have some good flat and straight throws with a DX Shark 167, but no real distance.

Anyone have any insight to offer?

Thanks. :D
peten16
Noob

Postby garublador » Sun Sep 17, 2006 6:10 pm

Discwise, I'd suggest following the advice given in this article:

http://www.discgolfreview.com/resources ... disc.shtml

Until you're throwing over 200', midranges will probably give you the best distance. They aren't as sensitive to the nose angle as the high speed drivers you're throwing.