Improving Distance

Information, Questions, Discussion about Throwing Mechanics and Technique

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Improving Distance

Postby Fainaent » Fri Oct 06, 2006 1:43 pm

I have a couple of questions on how I can improve my distance. I started playing about 2 months ago, but I only get to play once a week because of how far from a course I live. I'm a pretty weak arm player... I actually have problems with chronic fatigue, but I've found that the exercise really helps... I throw mainly 150g discs, and my driver is a leopard. Right now I max out around 300-320' with 20'-high line drives... I throw RHBH and I do a slow X-step. I've found that when I try to speed up my approach steps, the disc tends to rise quickly out of control and stall. What I want to do is learn a drive that takes more advantage of the disc's flight path. I read about the hyzer-flip and distance anhyzer on this site... which would you suggest for a new player? Also, what do I need to do(CG, upper body angle, etc). Thanks in advance for your help.
Fainaent
Noob

Postby Eric O » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:02 pm

The most useful thing I could say for being 2 months into learning is to focus on developing good mechanics rather than how far you can throw. Distance will take care of itself as your technique improves.

Also you don't need baskets to work on your drives. Any park or school in your neighborhood will do where there is enough open space. Football field is ideal if you really want an accurate distance guage, but imo it is more important to pay attention to how the disc travels through the air rather than how far it goes as this will tell you much more about your throwing mechanics.
Eric O
1000 Rated Poster

Postby Fainaent » Fri Oct 06, 2006 2:12 pm

Thanks for the quick reply.

A friend of mine and I used to go to the park and throw back and forth to each other, but he recently moved :cry: ...