Suggestions?

Information, Questions, Discussion about Throwing Mechanics and Technique

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Suggestions?

Postby Snarf » Tue Oct 10, 2006 12:27 pm

Hi,

I've been practicing throws with a pal for a couple of months, and have started to throw a little bit better. However, the improvement has been only slight and I'm still frustrated by throws that fly too high, curve to the left, and then crash to the ground.

I have, however, found one way to get my throws to be somewhat level: I hold the frisbee on the pullback so that it is perpendicular to the ground with my hand under it.

When I release it in this manner it comes out fairly straight and doesn't do the left-crash-and-burn thing.

This is clearly the wrong way to throw the frisbee though, so I'm wondering if any of you pros can use this to suggest what I might be doing wrong.

Thanks
Snarf
Noob

Postby MR. WICK » Tue Oct 10, 2006 12:54 pm

Check out the articles on the main page of this sight about throwing with the nose down and grip. I had similar problems a short time ago.
MR. WICK
Plastic Fondler

Favorite Disc: the one in my hand

Postby Thatdirtykid » Tue Oct 10, 2006 6:47 pm

definately an issue w/ nose angles. read the articles on nose angles and previous discussions here so you can learn to keep the nose down.

When a disc flies with the nose up air gets underneath the the flight plate and slows it down, and forces the disc higher.
When a disc slows down it fades.
Z Pred-ESP Cyclone-Z Force-Z Aftershock-Z Comet-Ion-Pro Rhyno
Thatdirtykid
Disc Whore

Favorite Disc: z pred

Postby roadkill » Tue Oct 10, 2006 9:19 pm

It's hard to diagnose your problem without watching you throw. However I will try to give some guidance based on what is common among beginners.

1. Avoid a lot of forward lean (upper body) or dipping your throwing shoulder. Stand more erect with some weight on your heels.