Snap and recoil

Information, Questions, Discussion about Throwing Mechanics and Technique

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Snap and recoil

Postby Bradley Walker » Sun Oct 15, 2006 6:59 am

I hurt my back in a tournament. I slipped off the end of the teebox and landed on my ass. This has taken several weeks and many adjustments to start to get right. While I was recovering I started practicing throwing with no run up and minimizing the body as much as possible, just for training. The entire emphasis has been on what can be done solely with the snap.

I now have a greater underanding of what can be done with snap. The snap is very powerful and accurate for that manner. In fact, it is just easier to throw with a snap, minimizing the "throw" portion of the motion.

My new snap is a copy of local player. He X steps sidewise and simply brings his arm back in an arc to 6 oclock and snaps to 11 or 12 oclock (his arm is crooked down at the wrist----noticably nose down---and the arm is soft, the grip is very nuetral.) There is a slight recoil at the end of the snap. That's it. He can throw slow discs further than anyone I have ever seen. They simply never come down. I think I have improved my throwing ability 50% since adopting this form. It is just so easy on the body and the end of the snap is the line so it is deadly accurate (compared to what I was doing before anyway). I think I have picked up MORE CONSISTENT distance. I still throw about the same max distance, but now I can do it evey time instead of 1 in 5.

My question is, why do you need a follow through to snap? Following through way past the end of the snap almost serves to minimize the snap.

Some of my best snaps almost seem to STOP at the end of the snap with my arm pointing downrange...
Bradley Walker
Disc Whore

Favorite Disc: Roc

Postby Blake_T » Sun Oct 15, 2006 11:20 am