The Comprehensive Roller Thread

Information, Questions, Discussion about Throwing Mechanics and Technique

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

The Comprehensive Roller Thread

Postby Timko » Mon Feb 15, 2010 7:36 pm

I know we're all hung up on air shots, but we need a place to talk about the easiest way to reach the 400' barrier.

I'm just learning how to throw these, so I'd be interested in hearing what some other people have to say about them :).
jsun3thousand wrote:Disc golfers are holding the sport back.
Timko
Like Angels Kicking Ass in your Mouth

Re: The Comprehensive Roller Thread

Postby MotoDj » Mon Feb 15, 2010 7:52 pm

like the lost numbers...

and for rollers, i've had my best rollers with a crush and a monarch

but i like my roadrunner, avengerss for ease of setting em down backhand (if i air em out first...)
firebird or pred for fh rollers are just ok... for me, but the crush is my goto, for straightness and distance the same

of course i only throw rollers everyonce in a while, dont really practice them either...
longest roller would be with an epic thumber... but i dont carry that anymore.. its just a gimmic disc that gets thrown for entertainment
MotoDj
Steward Turkeylink: This ranks means I can't read or follow basic directions

Favorite Disc: i carry 6 favorites

Postby marmoset » Mon Feb 15, 2010 8:16 pm

From a previous thread:
Marmoset wrote:I have been practicing rollers a lot recently. I realized mostly basic stuff and one or two advanced things. Here is a short list of what I've found:

• snap, snap, snap! And more snap. You can't have too much of it if you are trying to learn rollers.
• its all about the landing angle and speed
• given the opportunity a disc will always want to finish towards the dome side of the disc
• overstable stuff (Predators, Banshees, Firebirds, etc.) stand up more slowly and turn slower
• they are also much trickier for backhand rollers because of the extreme release angles