Complete Beginner - Where to Start

Information, Questions, Discussion about Throwing Mechanics and Technique

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Complete Beginner - Where to Start

Postby bongo » Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:34 pm

Hi everyone,

I've just taken up Disc Golf and have stumbled across this site which looks like a great resource to me. I've had a browse around but couldn't find a topic like this - apologies if I missed one.

My question is if you were a complete beginner where would you start?

I see lots of great techniques on here but I'm really not sure which to start on first and the best way to build up a decent technique.
bongo
Noob

Re: Complete Beginner - Where to Start

Postby discraft » Thu Sep 30, 2010 5:59 pm

http://www.discgolfreview.com/resources/articles.shtml
read all of these.
ask questions at this site
also this:
viewtopic.php?f=2&t=8925
Last edited by discraft on Thu Sep 30, 2010 6:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regular Dude that likes DISCRAFT.

Force:Nuke:Avenger:Buzz:Meteor:Stratus:APX
discraft
Tree Magnet

Favorite Disc: Meteor

Postby keltik » Thu Sep 30, 2010 6:07 pm

with a putter. If you learn to make all of your shots with just one putter mold you will be better off in the long run. an Aviar Putt & Approach will do just fine. after a few months of practice (rotating putters of course) you would probably want to add a beaded putter (aka Wizard, Challenger, KC Aviar etc.) and also a mid range.

IF you don't want use just a putter then you can use a Mid and a Putter. for a Mid I suggest a Comet or a Fuse. later you can add a Roc or Buzzz/Core type disc.

oh yeah and welcome to your new addiction.
keltik
2010 DGR Donator

Favorite Disc: Polecat!! Ò.ó

Postby Mark Ellis » Thu Sep 30, 2010 7:48 pm

bongo wrote:Hi everyone,