Is a putter enough for a beginner?

Information, Questions, Discussion about Throwing Mechanics and Technique

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Is a putter enough for a beginner?

Postby Der Alte » Fri Oct 15, 2010 1:35 pm

I just found this sport at this September (2010). I have to admit that I'm a total beginner and I'm making all possible mistakes which you can think of. Reach back is missing, I'm throwing hyzers, anhyzers and everything else between these, there is definetely no snap etc.. And of course I have a pile of discs:
Innova DX Aviar P&A
Innova DX XD
Innova DX Roc
Innova DX Valkyrie
Innova Star Aviar P&A
Innova Champion Spider
Innova Champion Valkyrie
Discraft Pro-D Soft Magnet
Discraft Pro-D Buzzz
Discraft Pro-D Avenger SS
Discraft Elite Z Buzzz

The funny thing is that basically it doesn't matter which disc I throw and the distance is almost same. Usually the max distance is somewhere between 50-80 meters (150-240').

Last time I was playing I used just a putters and the results didn't differ from previous sessions when I have been using a driver, a midrange and a putter.

So, I have question for You Guru's: Is it wise to concentrate to use just a putter and a midrange? And when I can master these discs then it is time move on to faster drivers? Accuracy and form is more important than the distance, isn't it?
Last edited by Der Alte on Fri Oct 15, 2010 1:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Der Alte
Noob

Favorite Disc: Jokeri

Re: Just a putter is enough for a beginner?

Postby Frank Delicious » Fri Oct 15, 2010 1:40 pm

Moved this to the technique section.
Frank Delicious
The Crime Prince of Clown

Favorite Disc: Wraith

Re: Is a putter enough for a beginner?

Postby turso » Fri Oct 15, 2010 2:25 pm