Correcting OAT? Help

Information, Questions, Discussion about Throwing Mechanics and Technique

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Correcting OAT? Help

Postby caleb91 » Fri Nov 12, 2010 1:53 pm

I am a beginner and I have only been playing for 6-7 months. I max out at about 350-400ft and my discs will constantly go right if im not paranoid about it. I throw a star katana, champ groove, champ monarch and dx leopard mostly. I am assuming I have OAT by what I have been reading. How can I correct this? Thanks a ton
DD2/Valkyrie/Banshee/Rocs/Rhynos
caleb91
Noob

Favorite Disc: Star Eagle

Re: Correcting OAT? Help

Postby aDave » Fri Nov 12, 2010 1:57 pm

Learn to throw a Comet ~300' without flipping it.
That's what banished my OAT beast.
aDave
Noob

Favorite Disc: Beat floppy aviar

Postby Sean40474 » Fri Nov 12, 2010 3:34 pm

If your DX Leo is beat just throwing that might help as that can be a very sensitive disc. A Comet is a great disc and I think it is one of the best discs ever made; I have several of them in all different plastics and weights. I'd really like to think my form has gotten better from throwing this disc. I also love the Gazelle and throwing putter only rounds. I would imagine if you did any of these things for an extended period of time it would significantly lessen your OAT.
It's all about discipline and focused practice!

masterbeato wrote:...900 feet, everybody is happy.
Sean40474
Colonel Cleavage

Favorite Disc: PDGazelle/Comet/Pure

Postby AbelRod » Fri Nov 12, 2010 3:58 pm

aDave wrote:Learn to throw a Comet ~300' without flipping it.
NUKE, Pred, XL, Comet, Buzzz, Challenger
AbelRod
Tree Magnet

Favorite Disc: comet

Postby caleb91 » Mon Nov 15, 2010 6:18 pm

Thanks alot. I've been using the leopard a ton and it seems to have helped me throw all my other drivers alot farther and straighter. Thanks for the advise.
DD2/Valkyrie/Banshee/Rocs/Rhynos
caleb91
Noob

Favorite Disc: Star Eagle