Valkyrie Rolling on fade...

Information, Questions, Discussion about Throwing Mechanics and Technique

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Valkyrie Rolling on fade...

Postby sparkyahs » Wed Feb 16, 2011 5:34 pm

I think this is in the right section....

First of all, yes, I am new to disc golf. I played one summer in high school and now 6 years later a buddy of mine (from high school) got in touch with me and took me out again. He gave me a couple of discs to start out with and some pointers before he left to go back to his neck of the woods. The discs he gave me were a Gateway Diablo and an Omega putter because I was able to throw them fairly well on the 18 holes we played. I had been practicing with them for about a week and decided to get a Valkyrie because I read they fly the farthest and my drives already go around 250-300 ft on average (I have gotten the occasional over 300ft to around 400ft, but I refer to that as an accident) and thought the Valkyrie would give me an edge on distance. I can't throw back hand for drives and be reliable so I have been throwing side arm (or front hand) which is also what I did in high school, and I can throw straight and low with the Diablo fairly regularly, and even bring it up a bit for predictable "S" curves.