I Need Help Getting More Snap (Videos)

Information, Questions, Discussion about Throwing Mechanics and Technique

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

I Need Help Getting More Snap (Videos)

Postby SirRaph » Fri Apr 29, 2011 9:34 pm

I've been playing for a couple years now. I putt well, my approach game is solid, but I'm sick of maxing at 350'-400'. So I've been doing some field work trying to get some more power to my game. I'm not getting the returns I'm hoping for, and I'm hoping Beato and you guys can help me. I'm not looking to compete in long drive competitions. I want to be able to attack 450' holes.

I've been throwing mostly Buzzzes, 3-5 Wizards and a couple beat Predators to finish the set.

I've worked on the pec drill some, and feel pretty good about the results. I'm throwing (from the Pec Drill) Buzzzes out to 250' with consistency. I've worked some on the hammer drill, and feel like I understand what it's trying to teach me. I'm focusing on the hit, late acceleration, trying to throw the other side of the disc, etc. I can sometimes feel the disc pivoting out of my hand, and I frequently get the snapping sound, both seem to add 20' to the throw or so, but I've still never really thrown one the way I know they can be thrown.

Current Reliably Consistent D (we have distance markers on the driving range at my home course):
250' with Wizards
300-315' Buzzzes
320'-350 Teebirds, Leopards, Avengers, Destroyers, Surges, Forces...

So here are the videos. Both throws are Z Buzzzes, both straight out to 300' or a few feet more. I'm not trying to lace them. This is a controlled shot for me, but still trying to snap it.

Throw 1 Normal Speed
http://s242.photobucket.com/albums/ff265/DavidLPettigrew/?action=view&current=ThrowNormalSpeed1.mp4

Throw 1 Slow Motion
http://s242.photobucket.com/albums/ff265/DavidLPettigrew/?action=view&current=ThrowSlowMo1.mp4

Throw 2 Slow Motion