Back Hand VS Fore Hand

Information, Questions, Discussion about Throwing Mechanics and Technique

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Back Hand VS Fore Hand

Postby kprestel » Mon May 28, 2012 12:15 pm

I am new to the sport (4-5 Months) and I am flustered. I have been ball golfing for 16 years (Started when I was 5) so I got that down, I am good at it and not being good at this is frustrating. I know its early very very early. But thats not the point of this post.

Today I finally gave up on my back hand drives, They go to high and hyzer out. When I catch it right I can throw close to 350. But Ive lost to many discs and its to inconsistent.

So I went to the fore hand and I must say I am doing much better with it. Is it a mistake to abandon the backhand drive? I can throw backhand approaches but is it a mistake to ditch it to early?
kprestel
Noob

Favorite Disc: Roc

Re: Back Hand VS Fore Hand

Postby Itchy » Mon May 28, 2012 12:50 pm

It's best to be able to do both. I really try to avoid forehand drives because something must be wrong with my form... I get terrible pain in my elbow if I do it on every hole.
Gorilla Boy Spider Monkey
TL - FL - Valkyrie - PD - Cyclone - Element - Meteor - Roc Plus - Gremlin - Summit - Wizard
SLO Throwers mini
Itchy
Fairway Surgeon

Favorite Disc: S Gremlin

Postby fore » Mon May 28, 2012 10:04 pm

Most beginners (especially kids) become proficient throwing forehand more quickly than backhand because it's more of a natural throwing motion.

That said, there are very few players at the top levels who are forehand dominant (Sarah Hokom and Sarah Stanhope on the women's side, Jeremy Koling and Geoff Bennett on the men's, to name a few). But all of them can air it out BH when circumstances dictate.