Driving Form Critique for Accuracy

Information, Questions, Discussion about Throwing Mechanics and Technique

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Driving Form Critique for Accuracy

Postby Planeman93 » Tue May 20, 2014 9:04 pm

Hey guys, I have been playing been playing for about 4-5 years now and have been constantly trying to improve my form. I have been playing pro for 2 years now. I have included two videos, one set of midranges and one set of drivers. These are throws mostly done at an accuracy power level like how I would throw off a teebox on a wooded fairway. If I had to guess the drivers are in the 360' range and the mids around 300'. The same day I recorded these videos I also threw PDs 430'-440' and destroyers around 450'. I am not concerned with distance at this point but I am trying to improve my driving accuracy. They are probably connected so I am all ears for how to improve my technique.

One thing I definitely notice is the strange action going on with my pull through at the very end, it is almost wysocki-ish. This seems to be a possible accuracy leak, along with the strange action going on with my elbow. I have been trying to get it all to work on the same plane as seen in Schusterick's driving technique, but have had a hard time accomplishing this. Besides these two issues the only thing I can think to do is to keep practicing timings and get the muscle memory in place. I focus on bringing it close to my chest during training and not coming through early with my upper body.

Drivers:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ICPvTck ... e=youtu.be
Midranges:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4yUxjcn ... e=youtu.be

This throw is a right shank that I experience often. I do a straight line run up for a straight shot, but at some points during my disc golf career have done a diagonal run up.