Switching from sidearm to backhand.

Information, Questions, Discussion about Throwing Mechanics and Technique

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Switching from sidearm to backhand.

Postby schla104 » Tue Apr 11, 2006 10:46 am

Hey all.
I have been playing for almost 4 years now. When I began learning, I tried backhand and sidearm. Sidearm just came much more naturally to me and I have been playing that way ever since. I play a pretty good game, but I am always wondering if I could play better by switching, or at least being able to throw a good backhand. I'd really like to be able to add a good solid backhand toss to my arsenal. As far as discs go I have,

Pro Beast
Champion Orc
DX Firebird
DX Archangel
Pro Starfire
Star Wraith
Star Valkerie
Champion Teebird
DX Roc(Main reason I want to learn proper backhand technique)
and quite a few other Innova discs.
Also have Ching Velocity.

I've read over some of the articles on this site and things and tried throwing but more or less I wind up with the same problem. I can't get any distance out of the throw. Are there any good videos I could watch? Any other tips? I believe I am just not throwing correctly. I saw that video on the X-step. That helped a lot to see it in action. Is there anything like that, that will show arm movement and grip? And does anyone have any tips? Also, I've been trying to learn with the Roc. Is that the disc I should be trying? Or should I try with something else first?

Thanks
schla104
Tree Magnet

Postby krusen » Tue Apr 11, 2006 12:15 pm

I went through the same thing about 2 years ago.
Yes, the Roc should be a good disc to learn with. A leopard or something similar would be good too.

The breakthrough I had was when I started to let my body rotation do the work and not my arm. It's more like a full body whip than it is a throw. Keeping the disc close to your chest also ties in with this, and is very important.

Other key pointers: