stuck and im unsure what to do

Information, Questions, Discussion about Throwing Mechanics and Technique

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

stuck and im unsure what to do

Postby monter_masher » Sat Jun 03, 2006 11:00 pm

Hey everyone, ive been playing disc golf for about 2 years now and ive hit a distance plateau I have looked at diffrent technique and grips and stuff and now my throw is so messed up I dont know where to start. So I was wondering do people have pictueres of the sidearm powergrip? from the top and the bottom of the disc? and Can you tell me our give me some links to articles about snap,grip, and throwing when throwning sidearm. Or I was thinking should I start over and start learning back hand? again I would like links to stuff about snap,grip, and throw and stuff about backhand. thanks for your input.
monter_masher
Noob

Postby Trekari » Sat Jun 03, 2006 11:10 pm

Just a hunch...

www.discgolfreview.com
Trekari
Noob

Postby Mr. Merchant » Sat Jun 03, 2006 11:11 pm

http://www.discgolfreview.com/resources/articles.shtml

its all right on this site pretty much.

I drive 300-350+ sidearm with a two finger grip. it goes 350+ when I get the right s curve. i've done it with a 175 and a 171 monster and also a 174 beast.
Mr. Merchant
Noob

backhand...

Postby Bart » Sat Jun 03, 2006 11:58 pm

While sidearm is great, you should definitely try and learn to throw backhand. In the long run, you will be able to get much more distance from backhand.

The articles on discgolfreview.com will really help you begin, plus I would suggest watching some of the video of the pros drive under the technique analysis section. Play close attention to the X-step they take as they drive and the use of their body to gain power. The articles will also give you a description of what you are looking at. Let everyone know any questions you have about the articles, etc.

By the way, what about your throw are you struggling with? Distance? Accuracy?