Rules question

Disc Golf Talk

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Rules question

Postby koronin » Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:35 pm

Over the last weekend, I had a putt end up straddling the basket, but leaning in, it was actually wedged on the basket and I had to yank it free. My friend gave me the putt but I have to wonder, is that a score or does the disc have to be at the bottom of the basket or resting in the chains?

I had one land and stay on top of the target once, I dropped it on the ground and then did a drop-in for bogie, bummer.

Cheers,
Jeff
--

PDGA: 31525
Aces:
11/18/2006 - Burke Lake Park #5 (150 ch Leopard)
12/30/2006 - Pohick Virginia #17 (168 DX Stingray)
05/19/2007 - Burke Lake Park #1, Long (180 Ch Stingray)
koronin
Tree Magnet
 
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:07 pm
Location: Kansas City MO

Postby garublador » Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:52 pm

Wedged in the side counts, as long as it doesn't fall out before you remove it. Sitting on top does not count.
garublador
Disc Whore
 
Posts: 3459
Joined: Wed Jun 02, 2004 11:37 am
Location: Urbandale, IA

Postby The Clergyman » Tue Nov 28, 2006 12:58 pm

garublador wrote:Wedged in the side counts, as long as it doesn't fall out before you remove it. Sitting on top does not count.


That would also be my interpretation. For what it's worth.
Today was good. Today was fun. Tomorrow is another one.
~Dr.Seuss
The Clergyman
Tree Magnet
 
Posts: 311
Joined: Sat Jun 10, 2006 7:59 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Favorite Disc: Z XL...or not

Postby trogdor » Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:04 pm

If you had to yank it free, it had come to rest in the entrapment area. You holed out.
Pred, Wraith, TeeBird, Eagle, Whippet, Cobra, Rhyno, Arrow
trogdor
Tree Magnet
User avatar
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 5:10 pm
Location: Colorado

Postby some call me...tim? » Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:18 pm

^
|
|
|
what they said
some call me...tim?
1000 Rated Poster
User avatar
 
Posts: 1946
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 12:01 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Postby AciDBatH666 » Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:23 pm

Yup yup, as long as the BASKET catches it.....its good.
like already posted, Top doesnt count.

Ive wedged em in, and ive also had one hit chains, bounce and land upside down perfectly on the baskets edge.....
It barely teeter tottered back and forth, just rested there.
My doubles partner was quick to run up and slap it in for the bird after 10 seconds of pondering whether the wind would choose for us.
AciDBatH666
1000 Rated Poster
User avatar
 
Posts: 1536
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:37 pm
Location: Lafayette, LA
Favorite Disc: Flat Top Roc

Postby trogdor » Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:45 pm

Now that's a good question...

If it's teetering, has it come to rest? If it hasn't come to rest, it's not good...yet.
Pred, Wraith, TeeBird, Eagle, Whippet, Cobra, Rhyno, Arrow
trogdor
Tree Magnet
User avatar
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 5:10 pm
Location: Colorado

Postby Terrence » Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:48 pm

Oh good, a thread about this topic!

A few rounds ago, my friend managed to "hang" a putt on two nubs of a Chainstar. The inside of the disc was resting on them like if it were hanging on two nails. Since the disc was on the outside of the basket just like if it were to balance on top, I argued that the put didn't count, but he counted it anyways (it was just a casual round).

So what's the verdict?
DX Teebird - Star Teebird - Pro Wraith - 4X JK Pro Valkyrie - 150g ESP Flick - DGA Tsunami
1st Run Star Cro - 5 bar stamp DX Rocs - 2004 Champ Roc
3 DX Aviars - KC Pro Aviar
Terrence
Tree Magnet
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 11:07 am
Location: Ludington, MI
Favorite Disc: DX Roc

Postby trogdor » Tue Nov 28, 2006 2:41 pm

You TRIED to cheat your friend :lol:
Here's the rule:

**************************************************************
803.13 Holing Out

B. Disc Entrapment Devices: In order to hole out, the thrower must release the disc and it must come to rest supported by the chains or within one of the entrapment sections. This includes a disc wedged into or hanging from the lower entrapment section but excludes a disc resting on top of, or hanging outside of, the upper entrapment section. The disc must also remain within the chains or entrapment sections until removed.

**************************************************************

So, it has to come to rest and wedgies and hangers count.
Pred, Wraith, TeeBird, Eagle, Whippet, Cobra, Rhyno, Arrow
trogdor
Tree Magnet
User avatar
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 5:10 pm
Location: Colorado

Postby AciDBatH666 » Tue Nov 28, 2006 2:49 pm

Well my putt was fully rested. Its not like it took 10 seconds to come to rest..
It finished all of its natural motions from gravity and was just resting. We were like..."Wtf?"
So we counted it cuz it didnt look like it was going to fall out on its own

But counted it as holing out because the basket caught it.
AciDBatH666
1000 Rated Poster
User avatar
 
Posts: 1536
Joined: Mon May 31, 2004 2:37 pm
Location: Lafayette, LA
Favorite Disc: Flat Top Roc

Postby trogdor » Tue Nov 28, 2006 2:54 pm

Fully rested AND you cleared it before it fell. Sounds like you holed out.
Pred, Wraith, TeeBird, Eagle, Whippet, Cobra, Rhyno, Arrow
trogdor
Tree Magnet
User avatar
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 5:10 pm
Location: Colorado

Postby superq » Tue Nov 28, 2006 2:59 pm

ok here is a neat one that happened this weekend. playing a course where the baskets are homeade and the top is actually sheet metal with the chains protruding a link or two above the top... disc lands on top but after review it is in fact caught wedged on two links of chain above the top of the basket. it is fully supported by chains and is above the top of the unit...


whats the call there besides "get better baskets?"
superq
Tree Magnet
User avatar
 
Posts: 383
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2006 11:15 am
Location: Waiting
Favorite Disc: FOCUS

Postby Luckyg71 » Tue Nov 28, 2006 3:06 pm

Ive played courses where the baskets had big enough holes in the top for the disc to fall through to the basket part.
The road goes on forever and the party never ends
Luckyg71
Tree Magnet
 
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed May 17, 2006 3:54 pm

Postby trogdor » Tue Nov 28, 2006 3:15 pm

superq,
If I threw it, I'd say that these chains are part of the upper entrapment section and take one more stroke to hole out.

If someone else threw it, I'd probably defer to the person who threw it.

If I had to make a ruling, I'd say it's not in...tap it in and move on.
Pred, Wraith, TeeBird, Eagle, Whippet, Cobra, Rhyno, Arrow
trogdor
Tree Magnet
User avatar
 
Posts: 290
Joined: Mon Dec 13, 2004 5:10 pm
Location: Colorado

Postby roadkill » Tue Nov 28, 2006 6:09 pm

Above the basket top is no good. All pdga approved have chains below the basket top. The homemade basket that has links of chain protruding through the top is an anomaly and out of spec so therefore the putt in question was unsuccessful.
roadkill
1000 Rated Poster
 
Posts: 1317
Joined: Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:56 pm
Location: in the truck
Favorite Disc: first run goblin

Next

Return to General Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 4 guests