Raw fingers ?

Disc Golf Talk

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Raw fingers ?

Postby wannabediscstar » Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:26 am

I am still new to the sport and I am tring to prevent breeding bad habits that will later need correcting . The question is is how much grip ? I try not to white knuckle my drives and am still questing for snap . I am a big guy working hands on labor , and at times I think I may be over gripping . I wieght about 300lbs and am not as fluid on my feet as I once was , but due to great direction from this site I have gps confirmed 300 ft drives ( 260 avg.) If I am over gripping will this hurt my distance ? It has been hard for me to try to mentally relax my grip , and if I over think it I go nose up and stall at about 220 ft . When I practice drives my fingers become raw ( 3 finger power grip ) in paticular my index finger . At times you can see the abrasions individually . And in cold weather it plain out hurts . I keep it loose until I think I am ready to tighten it ( right before take off ) by my understanding of what I read . The better I get at stepping and pull through it seems I grab harder , I guess its when I am tensing up on pull through . Didn't know if I was bieng a wuss or if it sounded wrong . Thanks .
wannabediscstar
Noob

Postby rehder » Tue Jan 02, 2007 3:14 am