1st round of 2007 a record for me

Disc Golf Talk

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

1st round of 2007 a record for me

Postby rodman » Mon Jan 22, 2007 11:04 am

I've been playing for about 18 months but I've not played for the past 3 months due to weather and other committments. I went out yesterday to play with a friend at Chapel Hill, NC course (my favorite) and it was a record day for me. I was in total control of my driver and only found trouble 2 times in 18 holes. I had 3 birdies and finished with a 4 over par (we call everything a par 3 but there are actually 2 holes that should be considered par 4s). This was my best score ever by 4 strokes.

Strangely enough this same thing happens to me in ball golf. My form and scoring is always better the first 2 months of the season and then I begin to tinker and it always results in worse scores later in the season. Late last year I was playing terribly. My last round (on a brutally tough course) was like 20 over par.

The thing that was going very right for me yesterday was my driver was long and straight (relatively speaking). I missed only 2 fairways and was averaging around 300 ft and for me that's pretty good. Actually, 300 ft and consistently in the fairway is really good for me.

So on to my question, does anyone else experience this early season form? It seems in most things that I do that I have very little rust to shake off but as the season goes on that I dont progress as I should. I hope that's not the case for this season in either sport that I play.
rodman
Noob

Postby mothrows » Mon Jan 22, 2007 11:56 am

If I don't get a chance to play for a couple of weeks, often times I come back with a better than average rd, but if I'm off for a month or two I'm definitely rusty.
mothrows
Tree Magnet

Favorite Disc: Z Flick

Postby Timko » Mon Jan 22, 2007 12:49 pm