Star Starfire is VERY overstable

Golf Discs, Bags, Baskets, Videos, and other Disc Golf Related Equipment

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Star Starfire is VERY overstable

Postby twmccoy » Thu Aug 03, 2006 2:32 pm

Took a star starfire out for a few throws the other day and from the first toss I knew this disc was an anomaly. It is easily as overstable as a firebird or predator and has little glide. It is far more overstable than the star wraith.

If you plan on buying one of these, just know that you won't get that long straight flight, like all the other starfires. It is a decent disc for strong headwinds though. For calm conditions you will definitely need something else for big yardage.
twmccoy
Plastic Fondler

Postby zealot » Thu Aug 03, 2006 2:35 pm

haha found that out (i was a noob looking for a pretty long , straight disc,,, this is not even in my bag now)
zealot
1000 Rated Poster

Favorite Disc: Pro Rhyno

Postby krusen » Thu Aug 03, 2006 3:05 pm

I'm really liking the ch Starfire I bought a month ago. My Pro wraith may be getting demoted.
krusen
Tree Magnet

Favorite Disc: Old Mold DX Beast

Postby mothrows » Thu Aug 03, 2006 10:07 pm

I hated my star "starfire" so much that I gave it to a friend to throw in a pond. It was the most finicky disc I've ever thrown. Overstable it was not!
mothrows
Tree Magnet

Favorite Disc: Z Flick

Postby zealot » Thu Aug 03, 2006 10:45 pm

i dont think it was that mine was overstable all the time... just when it felt like it. i feel like im trying to throw a log when i throw this disc. all bad for me. : /

makes me not wanna pick up a star wraith even though i actually throw the dx ones...
zealot
1000 Rated Poster

Favorite Disc: Pro Rhyno

star starfire

Postby twmccoy » Fri Aug 04, 2006 10:36 am